Hawaiian Wedding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Made for 4th of July and everyone liked! The hubby doesnt care for coconut so did one of the cakes half without! Really moist and definetely better refrigerated for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
used one can of crushed pineapple. Toasted coconut in the microwave. Worth the extra step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This cake was really delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Let cake cool only slightly, then poked holes in it and poured pineapple juice into the holes. Then used both cans of the crushed pineapple straight away, then the pudding mixture. Was worried that it was going to be too soggy, but family gobbled it up over two days with glazed satisfaction on their faces that the cake was so delicious AND healthy filled with fruit and cream cheese. (Well, didn't want to ruin the fantasy, so didn't tell them otherwise..) Also toasted the sweetened coconut for about 8 minutes and did not add the maraschino cherries. Made toothpicks to help tent the plastic wrap before I put it in the fridge. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Ingredients: need clarifications. Directions: Not so great. I drained the STUFFING out of pineapple & that was a mistake! Better ingredients/directions, in my opinion: Only SLIGHTLY drain pineapple. Use ONLY 1 cup cold milk in pudding (or topping will lack flavor if use the 2 cups per pudding directions). Toasted pecans are much better. Cherries, are optional. REVISED DIRECTIONS: Prepare cake mix according to directions EXCEPT USE THAT DRAINED JUICE for part of water. Be sure to bake in right size pan, 10 x 15 (jellyroll), for around 20 minutes, but toothpick test in center at 15. Don't ovecook. Allow to cool. Poke holes in cake & spread pineapple & its remaining juice over cake. In bowl beat the SOFTENED cream cheese. Then add pudding mix & only 1 cup cold milk & beat till thickened a little. Top cake with this mixture. (No need to fold in Cool Whip.) Now top with Cool Whip. Sprinkle with coconut, chopped toasted nuts & if desired, drained cherries. I used some canned cherry pie filling instead. Refrigerate. Best next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
holy cow. Just the frosting is the best frosting I've ever had. I don't know why I've never made that before, it's incredible! I couldn't find a 10x15, so I had to use a 9x14, I also poked holes in the cake and basted it with pineapple juice while it was still hot out of the oven. Then spread the crushed pineapple over it and put a thin layer of the frosting on, so the cover would fit. I'm letting the cake sit over night before traveling tomorrow, then I'll finish it. My mom spent years in Hawaii, and I'm so excited about this cake, she's going to love it! :D Thanks for such a cool recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macchiato98

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is a great cake. I did use the pinapple juice in the cake mix instead of the water. I omitted the cherries and nuts and did not toast the coconut. I agree it is better the next day (and the next)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandihoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
So Yummy & easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Great cake-definitely needs to be made a day in advance and refrigerated to let the flavors come together. Perfect for summer. I also subbed in the reserved pineapple juice for the water when preparing the cake mix and it made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super good!!! It definitely needs to be refridgerated before taking a slice. I didnt add the cherries and still yummy. It did leave me with a lot of topping left over but I'll use that to dip my fruits in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States