Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
The Hawaiian Wedding Cake, submitted by Olene Grieshop, makes my whole body happy! The only thing wrong is it is gone too fast! Everyone in my home goes 'crazy' every time I bake it. Ms. (?) Grieshop did a wonderful thing by deciding to share this one! I tried English walnuts the first time, but did not like it as well as the black walnuts in the second one. Perhaps M. Grieshop should add a suggestion to the recipe as to which nuts work better.....? However, this 'typo' in no way detracts from the easiness and quickness experienced with baking this cake. Thank you, M. Grieshop! Doris Rogers-Ripoll, Brandon, Florida (to the east of Tampa Bay)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was so excited to find this recipe on here. My cousin Connie used to make this for us years ago and it always got raves. It brought back many fond memories. The only additions I made were to add 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, and DEFINITELY is best with cream cheese frosting. I use the 'Cream Cheese Frosting II' recipe here on allrecipes and it makes plenty to frost this with. I also sprinkled some toasted coconut on top of the frosted cake. This is so incredibly moist and a snap to make. It feeds a large crowd, they will all oooh and ahhh, and you will go home with an empty cake pan. Great for Hawaiian themed parties or potlucks. This is a must do and also very economical to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Recipe was very easy and the finished product so moist...but it seemed to lack flavor. Next time I might add a little coconut or almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Nice, easy, moist cake. Try using 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of all white and adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to boost the flavor depth. It is great with cream cheese frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This recipe is excellent! It is soo easy, and quick. The taste and texture are excellent. I made it with cream cheese frosting and I put a little coconut in the frosting and the whole thing tasted great! I hope everyone at least gives this recipe a shot. Talk about an addicting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
The recipe was easy, so easy I was shocked, and there's no butter or margarine. The recipe needs a little salt though, but otherwise awesome and with the cream cheese icing it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I've made a similar version of this recipe that I clipped from some magazine awhile back. It's always a hit and is so easy and delicious. These are the only differences, my recipe calls for 2 c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 c shredded coconut. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I've just put this cake in the oven and it was all I could do not to eat the batter. I added 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg,about a teaspoon of cinnamon, the rind of one Orange as well as the juice and about 1 tablespoon of coconut cream. (I can never follow a recipe straight.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Yummy! I left out the nuts, because of an allergy and served it still warm with Cool Whip instead of frosting. My whole family loved it. It is wonderfully easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My own review might not be quite accurate since I did change the recipe a bit.. halved it, but used only 1/2 cup of sugar, and didnt put coconut in the cake itself, since I made a coconut streusel topping. The result? Straight out of the oven, 20 mins later, the cake was like a thick pudding that tasted pineapple-ish and wasnt sweet enough. A bit too moist, might have been better if I had let it cool some more. The walnuts were alright, but seemed to add an unusual taste to the cake. My topping did turn out quite wonderfully though, it consists of 1/2 cup flour, 1/3 cup confectioners sugar, 2 oz margarine and 1/2 cup of coconut, and needs to be baked for 20-25mins, so just let the cake bake, and take it out to put the topping on, then place it back in the oven. I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States