Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
The Hawaiian Wedding Cake, submitted by Olene Grieshop, makes my whole body happy! The only thing wrong is it is gone too fast! Everyone in my home goes 'crazy' every time I bake it. Ms. (?) Grieshop did a wonderful thing by deciding to share this one! I tried English walnuts the first time, but did not like it as well as the black walnuts in the second one. Perhaps M. Grieshop should add a suggestion to the recipe as to which nuts work better.....? However, this 'typo' in no way detracts from the easiness and quickness experienced with baking this cake. Thank you, M. Grieshop! Doris Rogers-Ripoll, Brandon, Florida (to the east of Tampa Bay)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Yummy! I left out the nuts, because of an allergy and served it still warm with Cool Whip instead of frosting. My whole family loved it. It is wonderfully easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This is sooo good. I also made it without the nuts for my nutless friends. They loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I halfed the amounts of nuts and this cake turned out great. The flavor is unusual and I will definetly bake this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Fast, easy and delicious. Made without the nuts. Does not need any frosting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
The recipe was easy, so easy I was shocked, and there's no butter or margarine. The recipe needs a little salt though, but otherwise awesome and with the cream cheese icing it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This recipe is excellent! It is soo easy, and quick. The taste and texture are excellent. I made it with cream cheese frosting and I put a little coconut in the frosting and the whole thing tasted great! I hope everyone at least gives this recipe a shot. Talk about an addicting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
The taste of this cake is better than the Cajun Cake, because of the addition of coconut and nuts. But in case of the Cajun Cake, it was the amazing coconut-nut topping that made it the hit! With the topping lacking, I have to say that I did not particularly like this cake - but maybe that's because I'm more a banana person - my friends did like it though, so definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Recipe was very easy and the finished product so moist...but it seemed to lack flavor. Next time I might add a little coconut or almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I agree...this recipe had zero taste! I even added the coconut extract, but it was still very unflavorful. Not sure if an ingredient was left out from the original recipe. I won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States