Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Shouldn't the recipe have you use baking powder instead of soda? It seems like the result isn't a cake texture but very dense (but good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Absolutely great recipe! have tried it as it is, have baked it as cupcakes, have used it for birthday cakes with cream cheese filling and sour cream filling. BUT it's really too sweet for me and I do have a sweet tooth. I usually use 3/4 up to 1 cup of sugar and I prefer brown sugar. Also, I normally use a mixture of whole grain flour, rolled oats and oat bran. it's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've always loved this cake, and never knew how easy it is to make. I added a little salt and vanilla as suggested by another member, used half white and half brown sugar, and left out the nuts. Topped with cream cheese frosting (used cream cheese frosting II recipe here). It turned out great, and was a big hit at work. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the BEST cake ever. So moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was a good cake but not what I was expecting. Just didn't have the WOW factor we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
quick, easy ,moist, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This recipe was really tasty and so easy to throw together! I loved that everything was mixed in the same bowl and only took about a minute to whip up. I did swap out half of the white sugar for brown sugar as others suggested to give it a deeper caramel flavor that compliments the nuts and coconut well, and I used the batter for mini cupcakes and used mini liners for easier removal. I also topped them with the coconut cream cheese recipe found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I have made this cake over 50 times in the past few years and it is always a hit. My friends invite me over requesting this cake. I really love it bc it is soooo easy to make and minimal ingredients ...a plus. I also make my own cream cheese icing to top it off to perfection. I totally recommend this cake for any party! It is on the light side not overly sweet which makes it perfect. Its so easy that i am so amazed that people crave it so much. and i basically follow the directions nothing extra except slowly mix in the dry ingredients which allows the cake to be moist. I would givr it 5+++ stars if i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My cake fell but it was delicious and everyone enjoyed it. Easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I liked this, but my kids did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States