Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Oh so simple, and so delicious! And the aroma while baking it is wonderful. I love the fact that there is no oil or butter needed. I was a bit short of coconut, so didn't have the full amount called for, but it was still excellent. My daughter thought it tasted a bit like carrot cake. I put some vanilla butter frosting on top, but in the future, I don't think I'll do that again. It doesn't need it, and of course, is healthier without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very simple, fast and quite delicious! Like a carrot cake without the hassle of haveing to grate the carrots! I did make with half brown and half white sugar and added about 1 tspn cinnamon and 1/2 tspn of nutmeg, per other reviews and topped it with homemade cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Has anyone used this recipe in a mini muffin pan? If so how long do you cook them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I like how easy it is to make & everything in one bowl. I really liked the cake, it was very moist, but it does need a touch of salt. So I think next time I make it I will do as some others have and add salt & maybe try the half brown half white sugar. I made home made cream cheese glaze for topping. I still think its a keeper though :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
this is a very moist cake. simple to make and hard to stay away from. we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very moist and perfect with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I think there's an error in the original recipe: it should be baking POWDER and NOT SODA! Using soda will give you a dense, flat cake but using baking powder gives a light, airy one. Excellent flavor. I agree with substituting brown sugar for white and adding 1 tsp vanilla. Made 17 cupcakes. Bake at 350 for 20 min. for cupackes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
LOVED IT! So easy & yummy! It was so easy to make with VERY little clean up. I omitted the walnuts, instead I crushed macadamia nuts & put on top of the cream cheese frosting. By the way I made them into cupcakes and served them over a tray covered with brown sugar, and topped the cupcakes with a little paper umbrella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Really enjoyed this. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I loved this cake, it was different from other typical cakes. The coconut and pineapple makes it so unique. What I loved most was that it was so easy to make. I didn't have crushed pineapple, so I blended pineapple chunks in a blender and then added them. I topped the cake with a homemade cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States