Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
The Hawaiian Wedding Cake, submitted by Olene Grieshop, makes my whole body happy! The only thing wrong is it is gone too fast! Everyone in my home goes 'crazy' every time I bake it. Ms. (?) Grieshop did a wonderful thing by deciding to share this one! I tried English walnuts the first time, but did not like it as well as the black walnuts in the second one. Perhaps M. Grieshop should add a suggestion to the recipe as to which nuts work better.....? However, this 'typo' in no way detracts from the easiness and quickness experienced with baking this cake. Thank you, M. Grieshop! Doris Rogers-Ripoll, Brandon, Florida (to the east of Tampa Bay)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This is sooo good. I also made it without the nuts for my nutless friends. They loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Fast, easy and delicious. Made without the nuts. Does not need any frosting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I've just put this cake in the oven and it was all I could do not to eat the batter. I added 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg,about a teaspoon of cinnamon, the rind of one Orange as well as the juice and about 1 tablespoon of coconut cream. (I can never follow a recipe straight.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Yummy! I left out the nuts, because of an allergy and served it still warm with Cool Whip instead of frosting. My whole family loved it. It is wonderfully easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great. I made it for Superbowl Sunday and everyone loved it. For a little variation, try using butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. Also, use toasted coconut instead of plain coconut for the topping. Those tips will add a little more flavor to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This recipe is excellent! It is soo easy, and quick. The taste and texture are excellent. I made it with cream cheese frosting and I put a little coconut in the frosting and the whole thing tasted great! I hope everyone at least gives this recipe a shot. Talk about an addicting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My neice and her first "boyfriend" had the same birthday and I was asked to bring a cake to the party. Who could resist the joke of the title (Hawaiian Wedding Cake) in that situation? I baked it in heart-shaped cake pans, too. It was a snap and the cake tasted great. Teens and adults all enjoyed it. I was even asked for the recipe from a woman that had a similar recipe with cherries, but she liked this cake more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Recipe was very easy and the finished product so moist...but it seemed to lack flavor. Next time I might add a little coconut or almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was so excited to find this recipe on here. My cousin Connie used to make this for us years ago and it always got raves. It brought back many fond memories. The only additions I made were to add 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, and DEFINITELY is best with cream cheese frosting. I use the 'Cream Cheese Frosting II' recipe here on allrecipes and it makes plenty to frost this with. I also sprinkled some toasted coconut on top of the frosted cake. This is so incredibly moist and a snap to make. It feeds a large crowd, they will all oooh and ahhh, and you will go home with an empty cake pan. Great for Hawaiian themed parties or potlucks. This is a must do and also very economical to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States