Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great. I made it for Superbowl Sunday and everyone loved it. For a little variation, try using butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. Also, use toasted coconut instead of plain coconut for the topping. Those tips will add a little more flavor to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was so excited to find this recipe on here. My cousin Connie used to make this for us years ago and it always got raves. It brought back many fond memories. The only additions I made were to add 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. vanilla, and DEFINITELY is best with cream cheese frosting. I use the 'Cream Cheese Frosting II' recipe here on allrecipes and it makes plenty to frost this with. I also sprinkled some toasted coconut on top of the frosted cake. This is so incredibly moist and a snap to make. It feeds a large crowd, they will all oooh and ahhh, and you will go home with an empty cake pan. Great for Hawaiian themed parties or potlucks. This is a must do and also very economical to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Nice, easy, moist cake. Try using 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of all white and adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to boost the flavor depth. It is great with cream cheese frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I've just put this cake in the oven and it was all I could do not to eat the batter. I added 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg,about a teaspoon of cinnamon, the rind of one Orange as well as the juice and about 1 tablespoon of coconut cream. (I can never follow a recipe straight.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My neice and her first "boyfriend" had the same birthday and I was asked to bring a cake to the party. Who could resist the joke of the title (Hawaiian Wedding Cake) in that situation? I baked it in heart-shaped cake pans, too. It was a snap and the cake tasted great. Teens and adults all enjoyed it. I was even asked for the recipe from a woman that had a similar recipe with cherries, but she liked this cake more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I agree...this recipe had zero taste! I even added the coconut extract, but it was still very unflavorful. Not sure if an ingredient was left out from the original recipe. I won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Recipe was very easy and the finished product so moist...but it seemed to lack flavor. Next time I might add a little coconut or almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
The taste of this cake is better than the Cajun Cake, because of the addition of coconut and nuts. But in case of the Cajun Cake, it was the amazing coconut-nut topping that made it the hit! With the topping lacking, I have to say that I did not particularly like this cake - but maybe that's because I'm more a banana person - my friends did like it though, so definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This recipe is excellent! It is soo easy, and quick. The taste and texture are excellent. I made it with cream cheese frosting and I put a little coconut in the frosting and the whole thing tasted great! I hope everyone at least gives this recipe a shot. Talk about an addicting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
The recipe was easy, so easy I was shocked, and there's no butter or margarine. The recipe needs a little salt though, but otherwise awesome and with the cream cheese icing it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States