Hawaiian Wedding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this cake for my son's wedding on a beach in Hawaii. It is now one of my families favorites. It is absolutely awesome! Can be made ahead and frozen. Best with cream cheese/vanilla icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I've made a similar version of this recipe that I clipped from some magazine awhile back. It's always a hit and is so easy and delicious. These are the only differences, my recipe calls for 2 c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 c shredded coconut. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Super moist, wonderful flavor. This cake was a winner all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very disappointing. While easy to make, with limited ingredients, it stuck to the pan and came out both too moist and with very little flavour. Pity as this was supposed to be for my sons birthday. His two favourite flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I liked this cake, but didn't love it. I pretty much ate the whole thing over 4 or 5 days because my daughter and husband weren't interested in it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This cake was very moist, heavy, and almost breakfasty. I followed this recipe exactly and although I do plan to make it again I also intend to tweek it a little. If you want a smoother texture whiz the coconut in your food processor before hand. Also next time I plan to add 1 tsp vanilla, a 1/4 tsp of cinnimon and nutmeg and subsitute 1/2 cup of the white sugar for brown. My family and friends all enjoyed this cake but all felt that the flavor was missing a certain "umph" we all agreed that it was a bit bland. With the above mentioned changes I think this cake could get a five star rating from this cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
A delicious and satisfying cake! My husband and kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My own review might not be quite accurate since I did change the recipe a bit.. halved it, but used only 1/2 cup of sugar, and didnt put coconut in the cake itself, since I made a coconut streusel topping. The result? Straight out of the oven, 20 mins later, the cake was like a thick pudding that tasted pineapple-ish and wasnt sweet enough. A bit too moist, might have been better if I had let it cool some more. The walnuts were alright, but seemed to add an unusual taste to the cake. My topping did turn out quite wonderfully though, it consists of 1/2 cup flour, 1/3 cup confectioners sugar, 2 oz margarine and 1/2 cup of coconut, and needs to be baked for 20-25mins, so just let the cake bake, and take it out to put the topping on, then place it back in the oven. I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
The cake was incredibly simple to make... I made it for a friend's luau themed wedding. I added about a 1/4 cup of coconut creme to the batter and used about half of the coconut suggested. The cake itself baked beautifully but took a little longer. I topped it with Coconut Rum Frosting (recipe found on recipezaar) and everyone loveddd it. Rated it 4 stars because it was a little too dense for me, but tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great. I made it for Superbowl Sunday and everyone loved it. For a little variation, try using butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. Also, use toasted coconut instead of plain coconut for the topping. Those tips will add a little more flavor to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States