Hawaiian Waffles with Pineapple and Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
My family loved this recipe! They were different and really delicious. We used canned pineapple and that worked just as well. I would definitely suggest trying these if you like the combonation of pineapple and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Wonderful change to your breakfast table. I used canned pineapple and my 4 yr old didn't like the "crunchies", so I will puree the pineapple before adding to the batter. I'd like a little more coconut flavor, so I'll add a bit of coconut extract. Be sure to give these a try - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I used canned crushed pineapple instead of fresh pineapple and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
These waffles are deliciously different. Just what I was looking for! They were a hit at my family breakfast. If you like pineapple and coconut, they are definately worth a try. Thanks a bunch, Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I just got a waffle iron and this was the first recipe I tried with it. This is very good especially topped with sliced bananas, whipped cream, and a drizzle or two of maple syrup. I will double this batch next time though because 4 waffles was not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These we good. I used canned crushed pineapple. I added 1 tsp of coconut extract, I only had 1/2 cup sourcream so I added 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt to make a full cup. My batter seemed a little thick (but not bad) so I added a little extra coconut milk. We ate these topped with whipped cream and syrup, and sliced bananas on the side. I like the other persons suggestion of adding chopped macadamia nuts to the batter, it woiuld probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were excellent. I didn't have any sour cream so instead I used plain yogurt. Also instead of coconut milk I used Pina Colada mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These were very tasty!!! I served them with coconut syrup (recipe also from this site). It went very well together! Would definitely make again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is a fantastic waffle recipe! Very flavorful and a nice change from the standard stuff. Would be great for a tropical theme breakfast or brunch. Try adding a handful of macadamia nuts to the grid before pouring in the batter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent flavor! It didn't even need syrup! Here's what I did though: omitted the coconut milk (stop, I know that's lame) but I wanted them lighter--so I used 1% milk. THen I sprinkled the batter with coconut (can stir in too). I used fresh pineapple... I had some extra so I sauteed it in 1T browned butter and 1T brown sugar...OMG that was amazing on top of these! The butter and sugar mixed perfectly with the juices from the pineapple to create just enough of a syrup. Wow--this was a great recipe! I didn't have any issue with "sour" tasting--was your sour cream expired?? Yum! This is a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Waffles I

Try these easy homemade waffles for any special breakfast.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States