Hawaiian Waffles with Pineapple and Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I took these waffles to a luau we were having, and they were a hit! I made a double batch which made quite a few waffles, and everyone snapped them up until they were gone. After reading some of the other reviews, I made a few changed to the recipe: I only used half of the sour cream, and doubled the coconut milk. This way they weren't sour at all and the coconut taste was great! I also just used canned crushed pineapple and it worked just fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
These were not worth the trouble. The sour cream made them too sour. They were nice and crisp, but I had to use more topping to cover up the sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Wonderful change to your breakfast table. I used canned pineapple and my 4 yr old didn't like the "crunchies", so I will puree the pineapple before adding to the batter. I'd like a little more coconut flavor, so I'll add a bit of coconut extract. Be sure to give these a try - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
My family loved this recipe! They were different and really delicious. We used canned pineapple and that worked just as well. I would definitely suggest trying these if you like the combonation of pineapple and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Good base waffle recipe. Made just as is and is great. Next time my daughter wants Strawberries instead of Pineapple, think that would taste great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is a fantastic waffle recipe! Very flavorful and a nice change from the standard stuff. Would be great for a tropical theme breakfast or brunch. Try adding a handful of macadamia nuts to the grid before pouring in the batter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
These waffles are deliciously different. Just what I was looking for! They were a hit at my family breakfast. If you like pineapple and coconut, they are definately worth a try. Thanks a bunch, Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I used canned crushed pineapple instead of fresh pineapple and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I read the directions wrong and put pineapple juice instead of pineapple. They still came out good. The syrup is easy to make and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Four stars just because the coconut flavor was soo subtle that I almost couldn't taste it. So I sprinkled shredded coconut on top and that did the trick. Next time I will just add in 1/4 cup or so of shredded coconut to the batter. They have potential and they did bring a different flavor to the breakfast table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Waffles I

Try these easy homemade waffles for any special breakfast.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States