Hawaiian Waffles with Pineapple and Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were excellent. I didn't have any sour cream so instead I used plain yogurt. Also instead of coconut milk I used Pina Colada mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent flavor! It didn't even need syrup! Here's what I did though: omitted the coconut milk (stop, I know that's lame) but I wanted them lighter--so I used 1% milk. THen I sprinkled the batter with coconut (can stir in too). I used fresh pineapple... I had some extra so I sauteed it in 1T browned butter and 1T brown sugar...OMG that was amazing on top of these! The butter and sugar mixed perfectly with the juices from the pineapple to create just enough of a syrup. Wow--this was a great recipe! I didn't have any issue with "sour" tasting--was your sour cream expired?? Yum! This is a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Four stars just because the coconut flavor was soo subtle that I almost couldn't taste it. So I sprinkled shredded coconut on top and that did the trick. Next time I will just add in 1/4 cup or so of shredded coconut to the batter. They have potential and they did bring a different flavor to the breakfast table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Yummy! Great topped with cool-whip and toasted coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These were very tasty!!! I served them with coconut syrup (recipe also from this site). It went very well together! Would definitely make again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I took these waffles to a luau we were having, and they were a hit! I made a double batch which made quite a few waffles, and everyone snapped them up until they were gone. After reading some of the other reviews, I made a few changed to the recipe: I only used half of the sour cream, and doubled the coconut milk. This way they weren't sour at all and the coconut taste was great! I also just used canned crushed pineapple and it worked just fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very good! didnt want to just top it with plain ole syrup so I took some of the coconut milk and mixed it with some syrup. And made coconut syrup perfect topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I thought these were very good waffles - the only change I made was that I used light sour cream. This was a popular recipe with my husband, and it's a good brunch item for company. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe was disappointing. With all the fat in the ingredients, I was expecting a butt kicking, irresistable good waffle, and it was alright. Next time, I will go with Mom's Waffles, and cut the fat by just adding some crushed pineapple and coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These we good. I used canned crushed pineapple. I added 1 tsp of coconut extract, I only had 1/2 cup sourcream so I added 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt to make a full cup. My batter seemed a little thick (but not bad) so I added a little extra coconut milk. We ate these topped with whipped cream and syrup, and sliced bananas on the side. I like the other persons suggestion of adding chopped macadamia nuts to the batter, it woiuld probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Waffles I

Try these easy homemade waffles for any special breakfast.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States