Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I used this for a Hawaiian themed potluck, and my co-workers (and family) loved it :) I did however make adjustments to the recipe... I omitted the coconut/egg portion of the recipe because one of my co-workers was allergic (my family liked it with the coconut/egg). I also used other fruit preserves for fillings. When I first tried the recipe I had a problem with some of the tarts breaking apart in the pan :(. But, as others mentioned, taking them out while they're still warm helps the tarts to come out more easily (... also buying a new nonstick pan helps a lot too x3). I think I’m going to try using the dough for butter cookies as another reviewer entered. Everyone loved the tart shell itself so it sounded like a good idea to try. Thanks for sharing Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great! Followed recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I actually made this recipe as butter cookies and did not use the filling. As cookies these are rich, fragrant with butter, and not too sweet. Add icing, and they make a beautiful and delectable treat. I will definitely try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
These were pretty, yummy and unique. I let mine cool in the pan for 10 minutes and they popped right out. Also sprayed the pan with Baker's Secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was so easy and I found the trick to get them out of the pan. I only waited about 5 min. The tarts were still warm and they came right out. The last pan I ran to the store and they cooled completely and they just would not come out. I popped them back in the oven for a few minutes and then slid a butter knife along side and they lifted right out. This is really a keeper and will be on my cookie list a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
this is an excellent recipe. Easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Fun recipe! A little involved with the molding of the crust, but fun none-the-less. In response to difficulties removing tarts after baking here's a suggestion: I had a plate handy with flour that I placed my palms in, rubbed both hands together and rolled the 1 inch dough balls before molding into tart pan. After 15-20 min of cooling, I covered pan with a kitchen towel, flipped tarts into towel and used the back of a butterknife to "tap" the tart out of the pan. It worked beautifully. No crumbly mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly and these tarts did not just "pop out". In fact, they were all stuck inside the pan and came out in crumbs. I do have to say the crumbs were very tasty. The 3 that did come right out of the pan, the coconut topping popped off in one whole piece. I'm very bummed, I was going to bring these to a luau party. I won;t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The recipe doesn't sound that great, but these are heaven. They were a big hit at the Luau. I recommend muffin cups because they are hard to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
We made these tarts for my daughter's 2nd grade end of year luau and everyone loved them. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States