Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I used this for a Hawaiian themed potluck, and my co-workers (and family) loved it :) I did however make adjustments to the recipe... I omitted the coconut/egg portion of the recipe because one of my co-workers was allergic (my family liked it with the coconut/egg). I also used other fruit preserves for fillings. When I first tried the recipe I had a problem with some of the tarts breaking apart in the pan :(. But, as others mentioned, taking them out while they're still warm helps the tarts to come out more easily (... also buying a new nonstick pan helps a lot too x3). I think I’m going to try using the dough for butter cookies as another reviewer entered. Everyone loved the tart shell itself so it sounded like a good idea to try. Thanks for sharing Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great! Followed recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I actually made this recipe as butter cookies and did not use the filling. As cookies these are rich, fragrant with butter, and not too sweet. Add icing, and they make a beautiful and delectable treat. I will definitely try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
These were pretty, yummy and unique. I let mine cool in the pan for 10 minutes and they popped right out. Also sprayed the pan with Baker's Secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was so easy and I found the trick to get them out of the pan. I only waited about 5 min. The tarts were still warm and they came right out. The last pan I ran to the store and they cooled completely and they just would not come out. I popped them back in the oven for a few minutes and then slid a butter knife along side and they lifted right out. This is really a keeper and will be on my cookie list a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
this is an excellent recipe. Easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Fun recipe! A little involved with the molding of the crust, but fun none-the-less. In response to difficulties removing tarts after baking here's a suggestion: I had a plate handy with flour that I placed my palms in, rubbed both hands together and rolled the 1 inch dough balls before molding into tart pan. After 15-20 min of cooling, I covered pan with a kitchen towel, flipped tarts into towel and used the back of a butterknife to "tap" the tart out of the pan. It worked beautifully. No crumbly mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly and these tarts did not just "pop out". In fact, they were all stuck inside the pan and came out in crumbs. I do have to say the crumbs were very tasty. The 3 that did come right out of the pan, the coconut topping popped off in one whole piece. I'm very bummed, I was going to bring these to a luau party. I won;t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The recipe doesn't sound that great, but these are heaven. They were a big hit at the Luau. I recommend muffin cups because they are hard to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
We made these tarts for my daughter's 2nd grade end of year luau and everyone loved them. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States