Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe. The tart taste is just right with the pineapple on the bottom and coconut layer on top. I just had a few issues with baking this. First the recipe said 3 dozen. I followed the ingredients and came up to 30 tarts. I should have cooled the dough first. With other tarts I made I usually cool it to make it easier to shape with the pan. You can do it right away but I suggest cooling it. When removing the tarts from the pan, it was very difficult. The crust was very flakey. It was delicious but flakey. A few came out easily. I will definitely try this tart again for an upcoming luau party. Just a few things differently then I think it would come out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Easy and yummmm! I used normal size muffin pan and it worked just fine. Shape dough like a shallow cup inside the muffin well and put filling inside. No problem removing from pan - I sprayed with cooking oil spray before I put the dough in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Good. Grease the pans well. You can also use normal muffin sized tins for a larger tart. I actually prefer the larger size, because there is more filling. In the smaller sizes, there is too much of the taste of the crust (which is good), but it overpowers the filling to some extent. Very pretty presentation (see pic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
USE MINI CUPCAKE PAPERS! I made these for a friend's party and I didn't use the papers for half of the batch. Once they cooled, they broke when I took them out and kinda turned into a mess. Also, I used raspberry preserves instead of pineapple. Still very good and got great reviews from my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good...after reading all the reviews I used Pam to spray my cupcake tins. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I will absolutely use liners next time, as getting these out was a nightmare! I tried both the suggestions and the recipe's guide, and both were a disaster-- leaving much of the tart in the tin no matter what I tried. I was mortified. However, the taste was excellent and they were still the first thing gone at my luau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are pretty good! I used sweetened shredded coconut & 3/4 cup crushed pineapple instead of preserves, I think the preserves would make it too sweet! And thats all I had to subsitute. I also lined the mini muffin tins with mini baking cups (the lined foil kind).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These were so delicious! And they popped out easily of the pan for me. I substituted some canned pineapple in juice mixed with apricot jam for the pineapple preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wow! These are delicious. I did them just as the recipe but since I didn't have a mini-muffin tray I did full sized muffins. Next time I will cheat though and use ready made short crust pastry for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARSHAHELMUTH
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
After reading the reviews about unsuccessful of removing the tarts from the mini-muffin pan, I used flour flavored cooking spray on the mini-muffin pan, then rolled 1 inch ball with flour, too. I took them out immediately, right after I took them out of the oven and put them on the cooling rack. I got all tarts (100%)out of the mini-muffin pan!!I also used apricot-pineapple perserves because there's no pineapple perserves at my Safeway but still they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSHAHELMUTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States