Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used the recipe pretty much as written with the exception that I didn't have pineapple preserves in my pantry so used 20oz crushed pineapple, added approx. 2T cornstarch and about 1/2c. sugar to thicken it and heated it until it was the consistency of a preserve. It worked very well without adding extra moisture. I didn't use cooking spray but instead hand oiled each mini muffin hole and didn't have a problem with sticking a full 10 min. cool before trying to remove. I didn't see it mentioned in reviews or the instructions about whether the oven temp/time was written for non-stick coatings or not so I dropped my oven temp 25 degrees as my tins are dark coated and tend to brown mini muffins too quickly. My first tray was acceptable but I found bumping the temp up as written gave a better brown and the higher heat gave a flakier tart. So the recipe as written at 350 for 20 min. was just fine for my dark coated tins (since I didn't have to cook the inside of a muffin but just brown the cookie crust). I chilled the shortbread dough as recommended and also kept the prepped tins in the fridge as I worked so that the final product went from fridge to 350. They turned out beautifully browned and flaky while having no problems holding their shape. The only thing that kept this from being stellar in my opinion was the butter shortbread almost overpowered the fruit flavor. I'm wondering how a partial sub. of coconut oil might work. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCAFELD
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious. Make SURE you don't overfill them with preserves and the coconut topping. I used a half-teaspoon measure with each. I also sprayed the mini- muffin pan thoroughly with PAM. I was nervous about getting them out of the pan after reading all the reviews but they came out just fine. I waited about 20 minutes while they cooled, then I gently ran a slim knife around the edges, and then I put a rack over them while I did the big "flip" to get them out. Note that these freeze extremely well too. I'm eating a defrosted one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These are so yummy. I did add some of my homemade yogurt cheese to the dough to make it taste like the tarts I ate as a child. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My entire family fell in love with these at our Hawaiian Luau Reunion! Plus, they are so easy to make! However, I live a small town and I had a hard time finding pineapple preserves, so I made my own. I have even made tham with plum preserves. I reccommend using the mini muffin pans from Pampered Chef. They make clean up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuvanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Better with pineapple preserves but the crust is incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These were well like. I used apricot & pineapple preserves as I couldn't fine just pineapple. They were just fine this way. The making of these is very labor intensive. Will not make again unless I have a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit at a work Hawaiian party. Used crushed pineapple instead of preserves. Also, I used regular size muffin tins and baked them at 375 for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were okay. The crust fell apart a little bit. They taste good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Excellent! Made these today, exactly as written. Followed a couple of reviews, saying to remove tarts from the pan after 5 minutes - DON'T DO IT - they are too fragile when warm! Let them cool off for 15 minutes or so. Ran a thin paring knife around edges and they came out easy. I would recommend: Making 1" balls of dough, then chilling before molding into cups (I had to keep flouring my finger to keep dough from sticking to it). Also, don't press dough above the top of the cups. Taste is very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Too sweet and impossible to get out in one piece. Not making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States