Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I love the flavor of this bread! Though I don't know if it was the weather conditions here or I slipped up with the measuring somehow but I found I needed to add close to another cup of flour. Within 5 minutes of the machine starting I decided to check it and boy I'm glad I did, it was like a thick soup! Other than that hiccup it turned out amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I had a difficult time getting th loaf out of the pan and much of it stuck to the bottom. It was delicious though and used it for French toast. I plan to use sprayed springform pan next time as ritejane suggests in her review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
this recipe was ok ... looking for one that is closer to the Kings Hawaiian Bread recipe. Will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
made this tonight....so so so so good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!! I have used it several times now and it has been a hit when we have visitors. It makes the house smell so warm and inviting and everyone LOVES having a slice of fresh bread! The consistancy is heavier than other breads. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Wonderful! Hubby like it better than store bought. I sprayed my 10 in springform pan with cooking spray and let it rise until doubled like the recipe stated. Then I baked until golden on top, about 20-25 min. Perfect! Very sticky dough and lots of air bubbles so I poured straight from bread machine pan without touching then poked with fork before last rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Produced a large loaf with excellent texture and taste. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did make some changes: I doubled the sugar, slightly increased the vanilla and left out the lemon extract. I noticed it needed more flour while it was mixing in the bread machine so I added several tablespoons. I made a separate mixture of margarine, milk, & sugar and painted this on the bread just before baking it in the oven. I put a pan of water in the oven while baking the bread to help it keep its moisture. It turned out moist, pleasantly sweet and wonderfully delicious! This would be great with strawberries over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I decided to make this to use up some pineapple juice I had.had exactly 1 cup of it so used it in place of the water as several other reviewers mentioned. Had to add extra flour like many mentioned also since the batter was way to thin. I did not want overflow as others had mentioned when baking so put the dough on a pizza pan, making it into a round loaf so there was plenty of leeway if it grew too much. added 2 extra T. of sugar since lack of sweetness was mentioned. Came out pretty good, but like many reviewers stated previously:was bland. My family and I all though it was "so so." Because I had to adjust and since we did not really like it super well I merely gave it a two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love this bread!! I didn't have any lemon flavoring so I tried orange flavoring once and almond flavoring on a different loaf. I love it with almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States