Hawaiian-Style Sausage and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Easy and good! Might try rice vinegar next time, but very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the recipe as is, except that I used sweet Italian sausage. Was a great, easy, fast meal. Definitely made the recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Definitely a keeper! Will try it with a little rice vinegar the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I used brussels sprouts instead of celery, added sliced carrots which I steamed for along with the brussels sprouts for 10 min before adding to dish. Also, cooked sausage in non stick skillet on medium heat with 2 tbs olive oil. Removed links, sliced and then returned to same pan, added each ingredient into skillet. Had only crushed pineapple so used 1/2 can. Simmered for 20 mins. Came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
To MargeGC who wanted a little more zing, how bout adding a couple tablespoons of rice vinegar or a little less other vinegar-any kind should do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karlstad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This looked beautiful on the plate, but I was rather disappointed that it did not have more flavor. The recipe was followed exactly; I guess I was expecting more of a tangy, sweet-sour sauce. It seemed too bland and I would appreciate some suggestions on how to perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. Lots of fresh vegetables so it was a meal in itself. I used smoked turkey sausage to cut down on fat along with a few shrimp. I made it for my parents and they raved about it! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My family loved this. It was easy and quick when using frozen green pepper and onion strips to save on chopping otherwise followed recipe without changing anything and it was wonderful and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe to springboard into your own taste. I used the leftover puree' from jucing pinapples, cut out the brown sugar, water, beef broth, and substituted two crushed garlic cloves for the garlic powder. The onions, peppers, celery, tomatoes, and pinapple puree seemed to be enough water for the mixture. I used Andouille Sausage to spice it up. I threw in some frozen shrimp in with the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States