Hawaiian-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was so good! Definitely a new favorite chili recipe. I adjusted it and just used 1.37lb ground beef and only 1 onion and 1 bell pepper but kept the beans, tomatoes and sauce the same. I also used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple instead of pineapple chunks! So amazing! Love the salty/sweet combo! And adjusting it still made a huge crockpot full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We love this recipe, we do add mushrooms as my husband and I love mushrooms. We also add a pack of Taco seasoning, chick peas, fresh garlic and fruit chutney. The pineapple in this recipe really adds so much flavour, almost like a sweet and sour combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good recipe. 2nd's for everyone! I split the hamburger by half. The other half I used chili meat. Browned it with garlic powder. In place of chili powder I used "Fiesta" brand chili mix powder. It's made in San Antonio,Texas. 2 onions instead of 6 listed. For the slight zing with the sweetness I gave a heavy dash of "Tabasco"brand Habanero sauce. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Thought this was very good. The only changes I made were using turkey burger instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made it with ground turkey and it was great! I really do like this chili! The one bad comment I have is...take the picture off the recipe...please! Everyone I have showed this too has commented on the pic negatively...I think it might turn people off from making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipie was a great started to what we added. Instead of chili powder, we used thai sweet red pepper sauce. We used the pinapple juice as mentioned before,added chopped eggplant and garlic. Then we served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This just tasted like regular chili to me. I could not taste the pineapple. Maybe crushed pineapple would work better. It did make a lot, as the recipe states. I got more than 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
We have a large family and they all loved this recipe - some going back for third bowls. I made it according to the recipe but followed one review's advice and used only 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never rated a recipe before officially serving it but I will give it 5 stars because hubby has been sneaking small bowls of it out of the crockpot all afternoon. Fortunately there is enough left for dinner. I had a little taste too and really like it. I followed directions except reduced onions and omitted chili pepper and salt as I used pinto beans in chili sauce that is plenty spicy for us. Finished it up in the crock pot because we like the onions and bell peppers pretty soft in our chili. Also used crushed pineapple with the juice. I think this is our new favorite chile. Thanks. UPDATE: I've made this several times since I rated it the first time and we still love it. Last night I maded it with no ground beef and it was still great. I did double the amount of beans to take the place of the beef. Love it, love it, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I cut the recipe to 6 servings and the onions to approx. one. My husband and I really enjoyed this! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States