Hawaiian-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is absolutely my new favorite chili recipe. I only made a few changes to suit our preferences. I halved the amount of meat (and used grnd turkey instead of beef), but left all the veggies at the full quantity except onions, of which I only used 2. I really cannot imagine, even if i had used 2lbs of meat, using 6 onions. Also, I didn't drain the pineapples, which were packed in juice. The light sweetness really helped to balance out the heat. I will make this again, for sure, and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Loved it. I cut this recipe in half and one large onion was ENOUGH. I also decided to take the previous reviewer's advice and add in the juice from the canned pineapple. If I had served it immediately it would have been too watery, but I served it the next day and the texture was perfect. This does make a spicy chili so the pineapple does take a bit of the edge off. This is a keeper! My guy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
We did not enjoy this. Ended up using it as filler for a burrito. Added salsa and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wow--this was so good! I loved the salty vs. sweet combo, it was delicious. I followed the first reviewer's advice and cut the onions way down, but otherwise followed the recipe. Also took the suggestion of adding the pineapple juice to the broth. Edit: Oops, I forgot to get the kidney beans at the store and so I didn't get to use those in this recipe (posted pic), but next time I definately will remember! (: Thanks, Christain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I cut the recipe to 6 servings and the onions to approx. one. My husband and I really enjoyed this! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never rated a recipe before officially serving it but I will give it 5 stars because hubby has been sneaking small bowls of it out of the crockpot all afternoon. Fortunately there is enough left for dinner. I had a little taste too and really like it. I followed directions except reduced onions and omitted chili pepper and salt as I used pinto beans in chili sauce that is plenty spicy for us. Finished it up in the crock pot because we like the onions and bell peppers pretty soft in our chili. Also used crushed pineapple with the juice. I think this is our new favorite chile. Thanks. UPDATE: I've made this several times since I rated it the first time and we still love it. Last night I maded it with no ground beef and it was still great. I did double the amount of beans to take the place of the beef. Love it, love it, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
We have a large family and they all loved this recipe - some going back for third bowls. I made it according to the recipe but followed one review's advice and used only 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This just tasted like regular chili to me. I could not taste the pineapple. Maybe crushed pineapple would work better. It did make a lot, as the recipe states. I got more than 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipie was a great started to what we added. Instead of chili powder, we used thai sweet red pepper sauce. We used the pinapple juice as mentioned before,added chopped eggplant and garlic. Then we served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made it with ground turkey and it was great! I really do like this chili! The one bad comment I have is...take the picture off the recipe...please! Everyone I have showed this too has commented on the pic negatively...I think it might turn people off from making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States