Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I thought these were really great ribs. The meat literally slides right off the bone. The sauce was a different taste for us, but we enjoyed it. I may try this method of baking the ribs with our favorite BBQ sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was a nice change to regular bbq. The sweet and sour taste was perfect for my luau. I only had country style ribs, so once the meat fell off the bone I made sandwiches using Hawaiian bread. Yummy! I did make some other changes. First, I made this in a crockpot (too hot to turn on my oven) and cooked on low for 8 hours. Then, I used 2 cans of pineapple, bbq sauce in place of ketchup, couple dashed of cayenne, and added a little more cornstarch in the middle of cooking to thicken. I will make this again. Thank you! This is great with any slow cooked pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
tasted good but thr sauce was VERY runny....I thought it would be thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I followed this recipe pretty exact, and it was pretty good. I think I would add more savory (& less sweet) components to it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I spiced it up with some Stubb's Mesquite Smokey BBQ sauce, some more soy sauce and brown sugar. Turned out delicious and everybody raved about them. They disappeared off the table FAST. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Good ribs, I enjoyed the sauce, but I do agree with another reviewer who said it was a little lacking in depth. I decreased the vinegar a bit and added a little chili sauce and cayenne to give it a kick, and I did use the fresh ginger too, but it tasted like it was missing something. Next time I'll add some barbecue sauce to replace some of the ketchup, increase the soy sauce and brown sugar, and add a bit more spice. Definitely very tasty, and worth making (with a few tweaks) again. I'd like to try them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I love putting this in the slow cooker to simmer all day on low. My kids even love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
If you like sweet and sour with a Hawaiian flair, this is definitely for you. The meat is so tender it just falls off the bone...my mom used to make this when I was little but had lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this and bringing back so many memories for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make and the spareribs were so yummy! I marinated the spareribs overnight and my boyfriend cooked them on the grill instead of in the oven. They turned out to be perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were a hit at my Luau Party! I followed the advice of another rating that said to bake the ribs for the first 1.5 hours on a rack in the roaster and they were indeed "fall off the bone" good! the sauce was FANTASTIC! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States