Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I took the advice of some of the reviewers and tweeked the recipe some. I added 1 T more ginger, 1T more soy sauce 2T basalmic vinegar, 2T brown sugar (my can of crushed pineapple was 14.5oz) and 1T Sriracha hot chili sauce. It got the recipe a sweet, salty, spicy thing going on. I left the ribs on the bone and cooked it just like the recipe said. Although I was able to serve the ribs like steaks, the meat fell off t he bones, the flavor was incredible! Sweet, Salty, Spicy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I only really used the sauce. I sauteed some porkchops and then started with the vinegar to deglaze the pan and then added in the other ingredients. I did not need the cornstarch because of the leftover flour in the pan from the porkchops and I let it reduce down a little by simmering it was great. I highly recommend the ginger it helps the overall flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
As written, this recipe is pretty good; however I only used 1/4 cup Ketchup (a 1/2 cup seemed like it would be too much for my tastes). Next time I make it (and I will make it again), I will cut out the ketchup and use tomato paste (2 tbsp) instead. Also I will add about 1/2 cup pineapple juice in addition to the crushed pineapple (I really wanted a bit of a stronger pineapple flavor). All in all this is a great recipe that can be tweaked to a person's liking. I used pork country style ribs (I dislike dealing with rib bones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
not a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I'm sorry but my family really didn't like this very much. Found it rather tasteless. Too bad we were really looking for a good rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Fairly bland; spice it up if you try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
They were not very flavorful which was surprising since the smelled so good. They were also hard to eat; a lot of work to get off the bone. We won't be making these again. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
A hit! Moist, tender, sweet, all around yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My family and I enjoyed this recipe as an alternative to the typical barbque sauce. I made the sauce as written with the addition of a little honey. I cut my ribs into portions, sprinkled with salt and pepper and browned in vegetable oil on both sides. I put the browned ribs in my slow cooker, covered with sauce and cooked on low 6 hours. I transferred the ribs to a foil lined baking sheet and thickened the sauce on the stove top using a little Wondra, basted the ribs with the thickened sauce and broiled them briefly. The ribs were fall off the bone tender. I'd make ribs again using this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Brantley Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I took the others advice by putting it in the slow cooker for 8 hours. I didn't add the corn starch until the very end and according to my husband it was delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States