Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I thought this was a 4, but my wife said definately a 5. Changed a couple of things; used 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup of my favorite barbecue sauce and upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbs. I let the sauce cool, then let meat set in the sauce about 3 hours before baking. Very tender and tangy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I thought this was a really good recipe. I cooked the spareribs in the oven on 350 for about 45 mins, then I put them in the crockpot with sauce on low for 5 hours. Maybe a little less vinegar or a little more brown sugar but otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRANKYWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Everybody loved these ribs and wanted the recipe. The sauce was a bit thick, so I thinned it with some fruit juice I had in the fridge. You could use any fruit juice for this. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Just made it for a luau surprise party and everyone loved it!!!! Will make it again. We ended making this recipe x'5 and they were almost all gone. People took copies of the recipe home. We put them in a roaster and cooked them for 4 hrs and they were falling off the bone. Would recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I'm SO happy you posted this recipe - I made this years ago - my husband and family LOVED it, then we moved and I lost the recipe - tried to duplicate it but it just didn't taste right. Thank you - it's marvelous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This recipe is so similar to the one my dad picked up in Hawaii while stationed there. This is definitely one of the best rib recipes around. I plan on making it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
So good! The only change I made was substituting low sodium teriyaki for the soy sauce and cutting down just a bit on the vinegar. The sauce was so rich and thick, almost like a jam. The aroma was incredible. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs, try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up, seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil, and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then, remove them from the pan, drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan, and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce, and bake them again, uncovered, for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone, and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs, and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to please my 3 kids. They loved it. I took some advice and cooked the meat, drained it and then added the sauce. The ginger completes the sauce, I would have never thought of adding it. My kids wanted me to make it again the next night. Finger licking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These ribs are awesome! I cook them in the crock pot though - on low for about 8 hours (layer, layer, layer), and then serve over rice.... delicious! I quadrupled recipe for a luau party last year, and fed about 25 people with plenty of leftovers! Everyone asked for the recipe! Also, there's a recipe on this site for "Hawaiian Coleslaw", which is a great complimentary side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States