Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
good... varies quite a bit depending on which /where i get my ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I was disappointed. There was no depth of flavor. I used chili sauce (kicked up ketchup)instead of plain ketchup and fresh ginger but had to add garlic, steak sauce, more soy sauce which did seem to help but it really just tasted like the plain ol' polynesian sauce my dad used in the 70's. It was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I didn't really care for these but my family and guests did. I was expecting more of a barbecue-y taste but it was more like a sweet and sour sauce. Also the crushed pineapple made it visually unappealing. I think I will just try it with the juice if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These ribs are awesome! I cook them in the crock pot though - on low for about 8 hours (layer, layer, layer), and then serve over rice.... delicious! I quadrupled recipe for a luau party last year, and fed about 25 people with plenty of leftovers! Everyone asked for the recipe! Also, there's a recipe on this site for "Hawaiian Coleslaw", which is a great complimentary side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to please my 3 kids. They loved it. I took some advice and cooked the meat, drained it and then added the sauce. The ginger completes the sauce, I would have never thought of adding it. My kids wanted me to make it again the next night. Finger licking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs, try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up, seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil, and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then, remove them from the pan, drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan, and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce, and bake them again, uncovered, for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone, and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs, and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I had high hopes for this dish, but I was somewhat disappointed. When the ribs were done, the sauce did not stick to the ribs and everything appeared quite liquidy. I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong. Will try this again to see if I can work this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
So good! The only change I made was substituting low sodium teriyaki for the soy sauce and cutting down just a bit on the vinegar. The sauce was so rich and thick, almost like a jam. The aroma was incredible. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This recipe is so similar to the one my dad picked up in Hawaii while stationed there. This is definitely one of the best rib recipes around. I plan on making it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I'm SO happy you posted this recipe - I made this years ago - my husband and family LOVED it, then we moved and I lost the recipe - tried to duplicate it but it just didn't taste right. Thank you - it's marvelous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States