Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN hrs

Hawaiian Spareribs

Recipe by  

"This recipe does wonders for pork ribs. My mother made it when I was a child, and now I make it for my family. This recipe is very rich but very filling. It goes great with mashed potatoes!"

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 6 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    15 mins
  • READY IN

    2 hrs 15 mins

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, stir together the vinegar, ketchup, soy sauce, and pineapple. Stir in brown sugar, cornstarch, salt, and ginger. Cook, stirring constantly, until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.
  3. Arrange a layer of spareribs in a roasting pan. Pour half of the sauce over the top. Arrange another layer of spareribs, and top with remaining sauce. Cover pan tightly with foil.
  4. Bake in a preheated oven until done, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Dec 06, 2006

These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs, try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up, seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil, and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then, remove them from the pan, drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan, and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce, and bake them again, uncovered, for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone, and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs, and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving, thanks for the recipe!!

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Mar 23, 2010

Fairly bland; spice it up if you try

 

67 Ratings

Jun 25, 2005

I thought this was a really good recipe. I cooked the spareribs in the oven on 350 for about 45 mins, then I put them in the crockpot with sauce on low for 5 hours. Maybe a little less vinegar or a little more brown sugar but otherwise great.

 
Jan 26, 2006

Everybody loved these ribs and wanted the recipe. The sauce was a bit thick, so I thinned it with some fruit juice I had in the fridge. You could use any fruit juice for this. Definitely a keeper!

 
Apr 30, 2007

These ribs are awesome! I cook them in the crock pot though - on low for about 8 hours (layer, layer, layer), and then serve over rice.... delicious! I quadrupled recipe for a luau party last year, and fed about 25 people with plenty of leftovers! Everyone asked for the recipe! Also, there's a recipe on this site for "Hawaiian Coleslaw", which is a great complimentary side dish.

 
Jul 06, 2005

I thought this was a 4, but my wife said definately a 5. Changed a couple of things; used 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup of my favorite barbecue sauce and upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbs. I let the sauce cool, then let meat set in the sauce about 3 hours before baking. Very tender and tangy and easy to make.

 
Nov 05, 2007

If you like sweet and sour with a Hawaiian flair, this is definitely for you. The meat is so tender it just falls off the bone...my mom used to make this when I was little but had lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this and bringing back so many memories for me!!!

 
Jun 18, 2006

Just made it for a luau surprise party and everyone loved it!!!! Will make it again. We ended making this recipe x'5 and they were almost all gone. People took copies of the recipe home. We put them in a roaster and cooked them for 4 hrs and they were falling off the bone. Would recommend to everyone!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 474 kcal
  • 24%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 20.3 g
  • 7%
  • Cholesterol
  • 120 mg
  • 40%
  • Fat
  • 30.2 g
  • 46%
  • Fiber
  • 0.4 g
  • 2%
  • Protein
  • 29.5 g
  • 59%
  • Sodium
  • 662 mg
  • 26%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States