Hawaiian Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Reminds me of a dish my mother made when I was a kid. It was good then and now. My grand kids like this, too. I made a couple of changes to suit my family's tastes. Used less ginger and less apricot preserves in the sauce. Also, I sauteed the sausage first and used the leftover grease from it in the skillet to cook the vegetables, as I find most smoked sausage is rather greasy. I drained the sausage on paper towels before adding it back in to the vegetables and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enkimoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe! One of my husband's new favorite dinners. I didn't use the crisco or tomatoes, but followed everything else and loved it! Tastes great over white rice. This one goes in my book! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made it this evening and the family loved it. I have a larger family so I doubled the recipe & used extra virgin olive oil instead of crisco but other than that I followed the ingredients exactly. I disagree about the prep time & cook time but I guess if you like your veggies more al dente' it would work. The flavor combination is a bit sweet so I think I will back off on the preserves to 3/4 of the recommended next time but other than that a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Gough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Sauteed the vegetables and sausage in a little extra virgin olive oil. Used fresh grated ginger and homemade blackberry jam instead of apricot jam. I'm sure apricot jam would taste good too but I wanted to use what I had on hand. The dish could have used a touch more vinegar to cut through the sweetness, but all in all it was a great dish. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
USED ONLY 1/2 TOMATO SINCE THAT'S ALL I HAD. USED PEACH PRESERVES. SERVED OVER BROWN RICE. VERY GOOD! I would add some cooked carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this for a pitch in. Everyone liked it. I used peach jelly because I already had some. The rest was exactly to recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This meal was delicious. I substituted orange marmalade for the apricot preserves, and I liked that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Was not our cup of tea, sorry. Although I do like to try new dishes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was o.k. it was more of a one time dish. I defitnitely won't be making this again but it wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
The pepper just didn't seem to taste right with the rest of the dish - but I loved the sweet/salty combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States