Hawaiian Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made it this evening and the family loved it. I have a larger family so I doubled the recipe & used extra virgin olive oil instead of crisco but other than that I followed the ingredients exactly. I disagree about the prep time & cook time but I guess if you like your veggies more al dente' it would work. The flavor combination is a bit sweet so I think I will back off on the preserves to 3/4 of the recommended next time but other than that a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Gough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe! One of my husband's new favorite dinners. I didn't use the crisco or tomatoes, but followed everything else and loved it! Tastes great over white rice. This one goes in my book! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
The pepper just didn't seem to taste right with the rest of the dish - but I loved the sweet/salty combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
did not care for this. Unless you really love ginger then please cut down on the amount. The ginger was overwhelming in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This meal was delicious. I substituted orange marmalade for the apricot preserves, and I liked that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Deliciously flavorful and very easy to make. I did all prep work ahead of time (it's not much) so when dinnertime came, all went into a pan and sauteed. I used Smuckers Apricot Simply Fruit, instead of their preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Sauteed the vegetables and sausage in a little extra virgin olive oil. Used fresh grated ginger and homemade blackberry jam instead of apricot jam. I'm sure apricot jam would taste good too but I wanted to use what I had on hand. The dish could have used a touch more vinegar to cut through the sweetness, but all in all it was a great dish. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
USED ONLY 1/2 TOMATO SINCE THAT'S ALL I HAD. USED PEACH PRESERVES. SERVED OVER BROWN RICE. VERY GOOD! I would add some cooked carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I grew up eating this, and now it's one of my family's favorite recipes. I can actually get my 4 year old son to eat vegetables, lol! When I don't have much time or if I don't have the produce on hand, I use frozen stir-fry veggies, and it's still fantastic! I do cut back on the ginger by about half, though, otherwise the 4 year old will say it's too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loudflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was o.k. it was more of a one time dish. I defitnitely won't be making this again but it wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States