Hawaiian Plantation Iced Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I took other reviewer's suggestions and upped the tea bags to six. Other than that, I made no other changes. I made this early this morning and let it set until lunch--there's not more than one cup left. We love this tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Gentle pineapple flavored tea - light, refreshing, sweet enough but not *sickening* sweet. But the pineapple flavor definitely dominates. This would be better kicking up the tea to probably six bags. I used a half cup of Splenda rather than the simple syrup, only to avoid the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This splendid beverage is a refreshing change from plain iced tea. I added simple syrup to taste, probably about 1/4 cup, and found that I was refilling the pitcher often as my guests went back again and again for refills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I tweaked this a little and it was great! I brewed the tea in boiling hot water for about 10 mins and added 1/2 cup a sugar to dissolve (instead of the simple syrup). then I added the pineapple juice and enough cold water to get it to the strength I liked. it was yummy and everyone loved that it was pineapple instead of your typical lemon iced tea. I'm going to make this will all my favourite juices. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great - thanks for the main recipe, very helpful! But we used brown cane sugar instead of common sugar or syrup, and added almond slivers, small coco pieces and 3 rose blossoms - now its genious! This drink we will need while sailing to and around Antarctic Peninsula on our next expedition, besides regular Magarithas and Caipirinhas and ron, of course...smile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
just got back from hawaii, and we tasted this fantastic tea! Can't wait to make again and again to remind us of our fastastic vacation! Will be adding a little vodka for kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Light and refreshing! I balanced the juice/tea ratio to my liking, as should you. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Hmm.. I trippled the recipe for a huge party and made it using the "sun tea" brewing method (i.e. not using the direct-boil method). This amounted a much weaker tea than expected. Sad. Looked promising but I will try a more flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I wasn't that excited about this. It tasted like those bottled Lipton flavored teas. At least I know how much real fruit juice is in it, when they make that claim. I used a regular Lipton tea bag. I changed the recipe to 1 serving and it made 2 1 cup glasses. I added everything but the pineapple garnish. It needed a little sweetness so I added 1/2 packet of Splenda to my glass. I guess, in the future I can add 2 Tblsp. of fruit juice to a glass a tea if I want a hint of that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Fantastic! My hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States