Hawaiian Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Really really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Our family loves this recipe. I use boneless skinless chicken breasts sprinkled with garlic powder & fresh ground pepper. I tweaked the sauce a bit as well by using apple cider vinegar and cutting down the amount to 3 tbsps. I used pineapple chunks and reserved a bit of the juice to add to the sauce making up the difference from the vinegar. I also added ground ginger and pineapple chunks to the saucepan while making the sauce (to soften them up a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Im sorry but I followed this recipe to the T...I did not deviate in any way. it was vinegar city. Save yourself and find a different recipe. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was quite good over rice. I made it as written although I used only chicken breast which I sliced into small pieces and added some celery. OK. I also cooked it on the stovetop which was fine - browning the chicken, removing it, making the sauce (as directed) and adding the chicken back. It was very flavorful although I felt a little guilty that we weren't having more vegetables. Next time I make it, I'll add sliced carrots. My guy enjoyed it and thinks he would like cashews in it too. It thickened nicely before I added the pineapple and then it wasn't as thick but still quite good. Of course, I realize now I used the regular (20 oz) can of pineapple but it was still great. Loved it for lunch the next day too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is delicious! I will definitely make this dish again and again. The prep is simple and the end product tastes like something I would pay for! I really enjoyed this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I added fresh chopped ginger for more flavor and would cut the catsup the next time. I like the soy sauce and used Balsalmic vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I also used fresh chopped pineapple since I have access to it. I used boneless chicken breasts and uncovered the breast part way thru to brown them well-cooked a bit longer so the sauce was really bubly and darkened a bit. The sauce is quite good over brown rice to make it a bit healthier. We served it with fresh steamed green beans and it's a great combo. Dessert was Mayan Chocolate Coconut pudding and it complemented this dish very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I used chunks instead of crushed.. excellent sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
the sauce is good! excellent recipe. I tried it and it came out really close! just added fresh pineapple instead of your usual canned foods. I cooked the pineapple with the chicken separately from the sauce. then I sauté them together at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Delicious. Everyone at the table loved it, even the picky eaters. I made a few changes though (mainly because of what I had on hand). First, I used half of a fresh pineapple instead of the canned - I just chopped it up and tossed it into the sauce. Second. I used rice vinegar instead. The only thing I would change (and this could be my fault for using different things) would be to let the sauce thicken more before using it or to let the chicken cook longer. The sauce was a little too soupy. It was still delicious on the jasmine rice, but I would make it slightly different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I was just writing out a negative review while the sauce was cooling, there I found my mistake. Before I let it simmer and then cool, I tasted this sauce and found it to be revolting, the vinegar and soy sauce and salt was just "too much." BUT, after it has cooled a bit I've tried it and found it to be pretty tasty! Of course I also added 3-4 times the amount of brown sugar that it called for to counter the bitterness and saltiness. Overall, after adding it to rice it wasn't that bad. The vinegar was still too much for me, maybe I am just more sensitive to the smell. I do not believe in altering the recipe and then complaining that it was gross, so I may try it again exactly as directed before I write it off. I think I may make it again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States