Hawaiian Macadamia-Coconut Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Terrific! Another Hawaiian type recipe that went over beautifully at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pequannock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
SO GOOD! The instant coffee granules give it a unique, can't-quite-put-your-finger-on-it taste. YUMMY! I served these at a Luau themed bridal shower and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookieCookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This recipe is amazing...and I am a island girl! I tweaked it just a bit. I toasted the coconut cuz I love the buttery flavor of toasted coconut. I also added one egg to the coconut macadamia mixture to tame any oversweet claims in other reviews. The second baking took about 35 minutes. Had a very faint coffee flavor and an overall buttery chewy richness that is addictive. I will be making these for my island ohana over & over. ONO! Many mahalos for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I made this for a Hawaiian themed party. I personally don't care for coconut or mac. nuts so I didn't eat any but the folks at the party really liked them. There were only 2 or 3 squares left and the hostess of the party just had to keep them so she could have them for breakfast the next day. The only downfalls of this recipe are the cost - mac. nuts are expensive and though it's easy to make, it's time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
These bars are easy to make and very good but a little sweeter than I would have liked. I made them for my sister and she just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These were great, except the instant coffee I had was WAY too strong, so much so that I had to start the butter/sugar part over, then I only put a bit in. My husband's college class loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I had high hopes for this dessert; what's not to like with these ingredients? Well, they were really sweet and I thought the coffee made everything else taste flat. Sorry, but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODCHICK23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
nice try but too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gumshoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States