Hawaiian Mac Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is Mac Salad but not really Hawaiian Mac Salad. I made it out of curiosity and, while it was tasty, it's a far cry from what you'll get at any plate lunch/Korean BBQ joint in Hawaii. True Hawaiian Mac Salad is simple... Macaroni, Best Foods/Hellmann's Mayo (a must) a little bit of milk, and salt and white pepper to taste. Sometimes you'll find shredded carrots, but generally, there are just flakes of them for color. You may find variations of mac salad in the grocery store that include potato and egg, but purists will tell you that mac salad is really just macaroni and best foods mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I was born in Hawaii and still live here. We make Mac salad for parties all the time without "following" a recipe since we were brought up with this. I have never heard of Italian dressing in this dish. I love potato Mac salad. I add more boiled eggs, usually 3. We use enough mayo to make it creamy. If you put in the fridge over night, you may need to add more mayo the next day if it looks dry. This is not a healthy dish, but it's oh so good. On occasion we add frozen peas or shredded carrots. You must have onions! It really makes the dish. For presentation a lot of people add paprika to the top. Sometimes after I put my serving in my plate I top it off with shoyu (soy sauce). Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
As an island girl myself, I can tell you the KEY to this recipe is the MAUI ONION. Maui onions have a unique sweet taste that unlocks the true flavor in this lovely salad. Follow the directions, treat yourself to the Maui onion if you are unfamiliar, and you will see. Thank you for sharing this recipe Sheri, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is the closest I have found to the potato/macaroni salad I had in hawaii but I don't remember the italian dressing taste. I think next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Nice. To be truly Hawaiian, use Best Foods Mayo. Add frozen peas and for a treat, add fried julienned Spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this mac salad for over 100 people and every single person who tried it had loved it!! This is my "go-to" mac salad recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this is an awesome mix, this is the fourth time making this in 6 months, i double the recipe and our family eats it till its GONE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famous-Guy
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this dish for a Luau party I was having. Very easy recipe and tasty too! Everyone enjoyed it and was the perfect side dish. I used a sweet onion instead of a Maui onion bc I wasn't able to find it?? Carrots make a great crunch and I loved the combination of macaroni and potatos. Only suggestion is adding more mayo and italian dressing. Maybe a little more egg. Other then that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Just like the Hawaiian Macaroni Salads you get at the restaurants; so good. I'm definitely going to make this for all of my parties and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookie "Cook"ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Love the recipe! Added black olives and ham to the recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States