Hawaiian Mac Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
As an island girl myself, I can tell you the KEY to this recipe is the MAUI ONION. Maui onions have a unique sweet taste that unlocks the true flavor in this lovely salad. Follow the directions, treat yourself to the Maui onion if you are unfamiliar, and you will see. Thank you for sharing this recipe Sheri, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is the closest I have found to the potato/macaroni salad I had in hawaii but I don't remember the italian dressing taste. I think next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This salad was OK. It wasn't bad but it wasn't that good either. Maybe it had something to do with the Maui onion which I could not find. I used a vadalia onion instead. I will make this again but I will try to jazz it up by adding some addition spices. I did like the concept of the potatoe and macaroni mixed together. This salad has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by TomBanjo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I doubled the recipe because we love Mac Salad, and if it's in the fridge we'll eat it any time. We ended up with an absurd amount of it, but give us a week and it'll be gone. It's a delicious dish, and I'm a relatively amateur cook which should attest to the simplicity of the recipe. In lieu of the last 1/4 cup of mayonnaise needed, I subbed in ranch dressing, which hardly came forth in the final flavor so I think the difference was negligible. Great, basic side dish for a Hawaiian-themed meal, though I think that with more experience in the kitchen, I could find some ways to improve upon it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomBanjo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Not too bad. I think add less mayo than this calls for and add a little more salad dressing. I would definately add another egg and 1 more potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this dish for a Luau party I was having. Very easy recipe and tasty too! Everyone enjoyed it and was the perfect side dish. I used a sweet onion instead of a Maui onion bc I wasn't able to find it?? Carrots make a great crunch and I loved the combination of macaroni and potatos. Only suggestion is adding more mayo and italian dressing. Maybe a little more egg. Other then that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is Mac Salad but not really Hawaiian Mac Salad. I made it out of curiosity and, while it was tasty, it's a far cry from what you'll get at any plate lunch/Korean BBQ joint in Hawaii. True Hawaiian Mac Salad is simple... Macaroni, Best Foods/Hellmann's Mayo (a must) a little bit of milk, and salt and white pepper to taste. Sometimes you'll find shredded carrots, but generally, there are just flakes of them for color. You may find variations of mac salad in the grocery store that include potato and egg, but purists will tell you that mac salad is really just macaroni and best foods mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Nice. To be truly Hawaiian, use Best Foods Mayo. Add frozen peas and for a treat, add fried julienned Spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Just like the Hawaiian Macaroni Salads you get at the restaurants; so good. I'm definitely going to make this for all of my parties and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookie "Cook"ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was fantastic! i added in frozen peas and doubled it since I made it for a crowd. EVERYONE loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States