Hawaiian Mac Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
we go to a little hawiian restraint and wanted to duplicate the salad, this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
one of my favorite side dishes! goes great with grilled meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
My husband loved this macaroni salad. We had never had a macaroni salad that also included diced potatoes. This was a very nice change from our usual mac salad. I made it as written, and will do so the next time. This held up really well in the fridge for 3 days without getting watery. A plus in my book. Thank sheri215, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Tasty too! I did not use the Italian dressing and used quite a lot more mayo since it was going to be in the fridge overnight. Great acceptance from guests. I will be making this all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. It was bland and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Being Hawaiian, and considering I've had this dish hundreds of times, this is a good starter recipe. I would have gave it four stars, but I had to make too many modifications. I added more eggs, more mayo (best foods is a must not generic) a splash of the Italian dressing because I thought two tablespoons gives it too much of a vinegar taste, I didn't have carrots so I added celery. My Hawaiian grandma adds tons of salt and pepper, so I did too, it was definitely bland with the above measurements. Other then that it was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this mac salad for over 100 people and every single person who tried it had loved it!! This is my "go-to" mac salad recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
So easy and delicious. I make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I was born in Hawaii and still live here. We make Mac salad for parties all the time without "following" a recipe since we were brought up with this. I have never heard of Italian dressing in this dish. I love potato Mac salad. I add more boiled eggs, usually 3. We use enough mayo to make it creamy. If you put in the fridge over night, you may need to add more mayo the next day if it looks dry. This is not a healthy dish, but it's oh so good. On occasion we add frozen peas or shredded carrots. You must have onions! It really makes the dish. For presentation a lot of people add paprika to the top. Sometimes after I put my serving in my plate I top it off with shoyu (soy sauce). Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this is an awesome mix, this is the fourth time making this in 6 months, i double the recipe and our family eats it till its GONE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famous-Guy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States