Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not too bad! I did not want to go to the store and happened to have everything in the house for this! I reduced brown sugar to 1 cup, used 1 lb of hot dogs, omitted white sugar, used the juice from the pineapple and bush's baked beans and then I thickened the sauce with instant potatoes! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We just threw this one together for dinner on the stove top, not the crock pot. I took the advice of previous reviews and cut back the sugar. As one who lives in Hawaii, I know that adding pineapple to a recipe makes it "Hawaiian" in the eyes of some cooks. But what Hawaiian really means (tongue in cheek) is "serve over rice." This recipe was excellent over rice! It took up all the extra fluids. And yes, Hawaiians eat rice with everything, breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because it tastes pretty good and is a good budget friendly pot luck option. For those who had problems with it being too sugary, try using regular pork and beans rather than "baked beans". I left out the white sugar due to comments about it being too sweet but think I could easily add it in without a problem; other than the pineapples themselves this didn't turn out sweet for me at all. If the liquid was more like a sauce and less watery this would be a 5. I have it sitting on low now so maybe some of that liquid will evaporate off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Served this over rice. seemed a bit runny. Loved the pinapple but the kids wouldn't touch it so i won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Good. Super sweet I will put way less sugar in next time . Probably only 1 cup of brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
it was easy.had them for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth's Special Recipes .

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I decided to make a 1/2 batch to test it out. I took the advice to cut sugar in 1/2, thank goodness I did that because it was still SUPER sweet! I think next time I will cut it down even a bit more... ;)~ I did also include about 2 tablespoons dijon mustard to help cut the sweet a bit and it seemed to help. Was so super easy, quick, fun and yummy too! Not so much a "dinner" type of entree but would be great for potluck, party, kids party, big gathering, etc. Thanks for posting D Cotton!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theocsuvmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this for my office party potluck. I added a small amount of jalapeno's and some canned diced up green ortega chile and it was a huge hit... Everyone wanted to know what that wonderful smell was in the office as it warmed up. I will for sure make this again.. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was alright. There was not nearly enough for a meal for me and my daughter and I brought it down to 10 servings. Then it was just okay and sweet enough with just a half a cup of brown sugar. Any more and it would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Yes I was surprised!! I threw in 3 cans of pork and beans 11oz. campbells, large can of pineapples w/ juice, 8 pack of hotdogs, sauted a small onion and few dabs of hot sauce. I added NO SUGAR. Put in slow coooker on low for 3 hours. I did not stir it and the hotdogs had a nice little brown on them. The pineapples really make this different and I think next time ill wait a half in hour before done to throw them in. This is a cheap and easy meal. I had everything on hand and wasnt expecting to much but this came out good. I think next time I wont even cut the hotdogs and have it on a bun! Yum! thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States