Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I must admit, I'm really happy I found this recipe. I couldn't bring myself to add the full amount of sugar, I don't think my pancreas could take that. After playing with it, we renamed these Hawaiian Pizza Beans. I used 1 pkg of smokies, one drained tin of pineapple chunks (my boyfriend drank the juice), two tins of pork and tomato beans, 3/4 tin of tomato sauce, 1 Tbs oregano and 1 tsp garlic powder. Not the exact recipe, but very tasty. We topped it off with mozzarela cheese for the full effect. This is the new camping food on our list. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUSCIOUSLEMONADE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Super easy! Great to make in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This dish is so great! It incorporates, nutrition, ease, quickness of prep and cook time, and kid-friendly all in one. My son and daughter just absolutely LOVE this dish! It's the only time either one of them will so much as think of eating pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New York, USA
Living In: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Big crowd pleaser with adults and children, just as predicted! And so easy to make- I'll definitely do this one again for a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Yummy! I added a can of drained pork and beans, and I only used a cup of brown sugar, (no white sugar). Big huge hit at our 4th of July celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This is really quite good. I did modify it a bit. I only had crushed pineapple, so I used that, and I kind of guessed on the sugar (just used brown, no white)...but probably used about 1/2 cup. To thicken it, I cooked it on the stove top and let it boil for a good 10-15 min without stirring it. I always find my beans thicken that way. I also opened up hot dog buns on the plate, and scooped the mixture over it. Almost like a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I added ground beef to it... made a quick easy meal cook time was longer then reccomended though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
my family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday party. I thought it sounded kind of strange, but it tasted really good. I did NOT add 2 cups of sugar as that would have been WAY too sweet, and no white sugar. Just 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. As is this recipe would get 2 or 3 stars with that ridiculous amount of sugar... Cookies have less sugar than that! Also it was too thin. The guys and kids loved it and kept going for more... Some of the women were afraid to try it, though! I would make it again for another kids party, not for dinner though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I tried this recipe a few months back. I put it over rice. That's the only thing my family didn't like about it. So This time I'm going to use egg noodles. That's the families idea. They loved it. And it's so easy. Instead of using my slow cooker I just threw everything in a pan on top of the stove and simmered it that way. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States