Hawaiian Fried Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These won tons are great! The only problem I found was for first time won ton makers (like myself) it would have been VERY helpful to know that you cannot stack the precooked won tons together. I had no idea that when I was ready to cook them I would have a HUGE ball of sticky dough that could not be pulled apart! Out of the 100 I had made I had to throw out quite a big pile of useless goo. Please make sure when you make this recipe to lay your won tons side by side and keep covered so they don't dry out. Also, the recipe makes 10 servings - I tripled it and made about 150 won tons for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Instead of frying the wontons, which would have taken forever. . .I formed and baked them in mini muffin tins. Then I was able to place them in a ziploc bag. Finally, at the party we just filled up the won ton cups with the filling I stored in a bowl and nuked them for about a minute. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I was skeptical after reading the ingredients, but decided to trust the reviewers! These were great. Easy to make. Brought them to a small gathering for a "test run". They were a hit - everybody liked them (of course I didn't tell them the ingredients until after they tried them). I really minced/ground up the filling for a nice even consistency (I put the cubed spam & water chestnuts in my cuisinart) & added an extra Tbsp of the oyster sauce b/c mixture seemed a little dry. Also, I used SCRAMBLED eggs instead of hard boiled (it was quicker). I used regular spam & did NOT find it to be too salty. I made the wontons ahead of time, covered w/ plastic wrap and kept in the fridge for a couple of hours. Brought them to my friends' and fried them up there (it just takes a few minutes) This made about 50 DELICIOUS wontons. Served these with a bottled sweet & sour sauce for dipping- although they were also good without the sauce. Will definitely make a double batch for an upcoming luau. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These wonton were great. I made them for a Christmas party for work that had Hawaiian theme and they may of lasted 5 mins. Even at home, my family couldn't leave them alone. I deep fried mine in a deep fryer and they came out nice and crispy. I did change the ingredients around a bit, instead of egg I used mango (canned or fresh works great) and I used about an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple as well. Also, if you have problems working with the wonton skins use egg roll skins instead. They are much larger and easier to stuff and handle. Awesome recipe once again. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Super easy and Onolicious! Only thing though, Use less sodium spam. Mine was kinda salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I LOVED this, but my daughter and hubby were less than thrilled, I won't put the oyster sauce in next time, and use sweet and sour sauce or pineapple juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Okay, the filling makes WAY more than what you could possibly stuff in 14 oz. of won ton wrappers(I had at least half leftover) but it was really good and I highly recommend. This was only the second time I had tasted SPAM and the first time I had actually bought it. These were really good with some dipping sauce. I watched a video on Youtube for fancy folding but other than that, I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I HATE SPAM, but mysteriously 3 cans of it were in my pantry. Not one to waste with a family of 5, I decided I would try this recipe. It was Ono, which is what we have named this dish at our house. I had Low Sodium and Turkey varities of Spam. I will make this again, thanks Elizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Wow, this recipe's a keeper! I made these for a Hawaiian-themed party last night and everyone loved them! I had a hard time using the regular sized won-ton wrappers, so I used the larger sized wrappers, and I rolled them up like egg rolls. They were a LOT easier to work with. To save time, I scrambled the eggs like another reviewer suggested. I added some chinese hot mustard alongside the sweet and sour sauce, like they do in Chinese restaurants. That worked well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I made these for an annual luau potluck, and they were a complete hit! Everyone loved them, especially the people who said they probably wouldn't have even tried them had they known there was Spam involved! I couldn't get anything but small round wrappers at the time, so this recipe made about twice as much filling as I could fit in the smaller wrappers. I took the suggestion of using reduced-sodium Spam and was pleased. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States