Hawaiian Fried Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My guests did like these, but for me they lacked panache. They turned out beautiful to look at but they need more flavor. Maybe it's the Spam, maybe trying ground pork would have the zing I was looking for. One thing for sure.... you absolutely must have a dipping sauce with them (something sweet). We used Duck Sauce. This recipe did spark me to want to try different things with won ton wrappers but next time I think I'll use a recipe off the won ton skin package insert. I'm very sorry, Rozewski :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I've had a similar recipe for over 25 years. No egg or oyster sauce! Grate the spam, grate the water chestnuts and add a little ginger, along with the chopped green onion. Grating the spam makes it easy to form into ball, and stuff the wonton wrapper. Since I like Spam I do a taste test of the filling to see if I added enough ginger. I grew up in Hawaii so spam was a regular on our table. The only hard part is grating the water chestnut, this is tedious, but worth not having chunks of water chestnuts, which I really don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
These were delicious! I probably would not have minded the oyster sauce, but I was taking these to work and I know a lot of people might be picky; therefore, I took someone's suggestion on the reviews and used pineapple juice, same amount. Made the rest of the recipe as is. These were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These were surprisingly good..I was nervous in putting water chestnuts and oyster sauce with spam but it went well together..you couldn't taste the chestnuts and the oyster sauce was not overpowering.. I gave it a four cause the spam wontons tasted so much better with sweet and sour or with soy sauce to dip them in..instead of eating them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wow -- These are wayyyyy tasty. Made them exactly per the recipe and everybody loved them. Novelty of Spam Appetizer at Hawaiian Dinner + Surprising Deliciousness = Complete Winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Love these!!! Only substitution was hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce. I used my Cuisinart chopper to chop everything very fine. They're delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
People were shocked to learn that there was spam in there. It didn't stop them from eating them all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
As a former "spam hater", I was skeptical of this recipe. I made a couple test won tons, fried them, and taste tested. These are amazing ... I couldn't believe something with spam and hard boiled eggs as main ingredients could be this good. I took them to a luau this evening ... served them with a sweet/sour dipping sauce and garnished them with mini skewers alternating pineapple chunks and maraschino cherries. They were a hit ... no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Okay, the filling makes WAY more than what you could possibly stuff in 14 oz. of won ton wrappers(I had at least half leftover) but it was really good and I highly recommend. This was only the second time I had tasted SPAM and the first time I had actually bought it. These were really good with some dipping sauce. I watched a video on Youtube for fancy folding but other than that, I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not really sure what all the hub-bub is about. I really wasn't thrilled with this recipe. Needed something...cream cheese maybe. Probably won't try again. I did use my food processor so that cut down on the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarriLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States