Hawaiian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
We served this as breakfast for dinner for company we had over. Everyone loved it! I served the fruit on the side and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
We liked it and we did not even make the syrup, which I am sure is great but did not need the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a wonderful addition to our normal brunch fare! Even my pickier hubby loved the sweet french toast. The syrup is fantastic, but I don't think it even needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Absolutely the best french toast I've had yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I didn't have any Hawaiian bread, I used Italian bread. I wasn't so crazy about the syrup, regular syrup would have been better. I also agree with another reviewer, pineapple chunks would be better than crushed pineapple. I toasted sliced almonds and topped the toast with them while cooking so that they would adhere to the toast. I also sprinkled with some shredded coconut lastly. I feel that adding a bit of coconut extract to the egg mixture would have been better. Because I wanted a truly "tropical" tasting french toast, I topped the finished toast with a few slices of banana before serving. On the side, a few slices of mango to seal the deal! All of the elements were there, yet somehow it just didn't "wow" me. Maybe it was the bread? I feel my version needs a bit more tweaking to make it the tropical french toast I was looking for when I searched for this recipe. Yet the base of this recipe is lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was great! Did not use the syrup portion, but the French Toast part was a hit. Made for football guys this morning and topped with glazed nuts and syrup. We ate pineapple and oranges on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this is good, not awesome but different. Its a nice change from the ordinary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The stores around here don't carry Hawaiian bread, and I didn't have time to make it so I used Portuguese sweet bread. Everyone enjoyed this, and I will make again. I topped it off with coconut syrup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was just ok - the family did not like the syrup, but french toast did have a nice orange rum flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a quick, simple yet different start to a busy weekend. Had most of the ingredients on hand- used real rum (love someone's idea of using coconut rum) and for the topping, had pineapple tidbits versus crushed. Drank the real pineapple juice before reading to use it so since didn't have mandarin oranges on hand, used some orange juice. Didn't use any maple syrup and with the honey, it was plenty sweet enough. Next time will sprinkle with a little coconut. Also had some homemade Amish bread that was able to slice thickly vs. Hawaiian bread and it still tasted great. Even my husband, who likes to stick to tradition, really enjoyed it. He jokingly remarked that we should see spinner dolphins swimming by our lanai any minute like during one of our trips to Maui (we live in Colorado!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States