Hawaiian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
YUM, YUM & YUM again!! This is an awesome alternative to the super heavy french toast I'm used to. It will be a perfect summer breakfast out by the pool!! I think I definetly have to add toasted coconut on top next time, and may experiment with the syrup...but this is just great! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Tasty! I gave this recipe a try today, and loved it! I did not have any Hawaiian sweet bread, so I used Texas Toast instead, and it still came out great! I love the hint of rum flavor with the orange. I also did not make the sauce, but simply ate it with a sprinkling of sugar. Great, but will have to get everything that I need for the sauce and try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yum! I didn't have rum extract, and I only used maple syrup instead of the fruit sauce, but the honey really made a big difference in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I have used hawaiian bread for years as a french toast base. I like this recipe but I like a little simpler. I do the basic base of whole eggs, milk, vanilla, etc. and have found that the french vanilla creamer I use in my coffee makes an excellent addition to the batch. I also skip the fruit and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Yummy! This was delicious!!!! Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have the rum extract, so I used 1 tsp coconut rum instead and it still came out great=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was really good. Don't skip the rum extract - it really adds to the flavor. I didn't have enough egg mixture to use the whole loaf of Hawaiian bread, but since I was feeding two people, it worked out better anyway. The fruit topping is easy and quite tasty, although you had better be in the mood for something sweet - whew! I accidentally added 1 teaspoon of orange rind to the sauce but it just made it even fruitier. All in all, a delicious meal that thoroughly satisfies your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This is my husband and I's favorite new breakfast! I couldnt find the hawaiian bread in the loaf form at the store, so I used white texas toast. I left out the maple syrup because I felt it would be too much sweetness, and I was right. I couldn't imagine it with the maple syrup, it was perfect without it. I also added some coconut extract along with the vanilla and rum. Put some butter on the toast while its hot out of the pan. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Easy, delicious recipe! We're taking it to Hawaii for Christmas so we can add local fresh fruit. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a quick, simple yet different start to a busy weekend. Had most of the ingredients on hand- used real rum (love someone's idea of using coconut rum) and for the topping, had pineapple tidbits versus crushed. Drank the real pineapple juice before reading to use it so since didn't have mandarin oranges on hand, used some orange juice. Didn't use any maple syrup and with the honey, it was plenty sweet enough. Next time will sprinkle with a little coconut. Also had some homemade Amish bread that was able to slice thickly vs. Hawaiian bread and it still tasted great. Even my husband, who likes to stick to tradition, really enjoyed it. He jokingly remarked that we should see spinner dolphins swimming by our lanai any minute like during one of our trips to Maui (we live in Colorado!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States