Hawaiian Fish with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This got mixed reviews. My husband really liked this, but my son (who does not really like commercial fish) didn't. Granted my son felt that it was just the commercial fish and not the flavor. Personally, I can think of better ways of preparing fish. My rating comes with some altercations to the recipe. First, I marinated the fish for 30 minutes in 1/2c lemon juice & 1/2 c pineapple juice and then baked the fish with coconut milk. I can't imagine using regular milk with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This recipe didn't make alot of sense to me. It would be better to marinate the fish prior and not mix up a curdled milk in the pan that didn't do much except make it a pain to clean. Also it is quite bland. Had to sprinkle seafood seasoning on the fish. Would have been better marinating in coconut milk and sprinkling a small amt of lemon on prior to baking. With the price of fish, better to look for a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Followed SMILIE224's suggestions as well and added pepper, minced onion, minced garlic, Parmesan cheese, pineapple juice, and 1 cup of lemon juice. Used 5 fish filets, 3 mahi mahi and 2 ahi tuna. We also omitted the milk. The lemon flavor was still strong even though it was diluted by the pineapple juice and used less than the recipe called for. I can't imagine how bad it would have been if we'd followed the recipe as written. I can see why it only has 3 stars overall. I would give this recipe 4 stars with the adjustments I made. I normally at least try to make a recipe as written so I can give it a proper review, but this one just seemed like a fail from the get-go. Was a good base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Wonderful flavor. I followed the advise of SMILIE224 and I was not disappointed. I made this with the sweet potato pineapple mash found on this website. My mom and grand mom LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Was very dissapointed with this recipe and I love pineapples and mahi mahi. Didn't taste anything but lemon.. way too much lemon. I'm not sure if we would try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Waaaayyyyy too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigginjenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good and easy. I added some extra herbs. Will prepare again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
After alterations it was still just ok. I tried to find a recipe that incorporated Mahi Mahi and what I already had in my pantry, especially after reading some of the other reviews. So I used Spike seasoning instead of basil & thyme and less than a cup of lemon juice. I also placed the pineapple juice in with the milk. I probably won't make this again but I'm giving it 3 stars because it fine but wasn't something I'd add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
We made this with only 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice and instead of the basil and thyme we used caribbean jerk seasoning. It was wonderful served with rice. Healthy summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smlygirl98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I had four fillets, used 3/4 c lemon juice, and pineapple with juice. Marinated 20 minutes beforehand, baked for about 30 minutes. I still didn't care for it. I hate to give bad ratings, but there just wasn't anything we liked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States