Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Made for a Hawaiian dinner party. I used a bag of shredded cabbage because it seems to be dryer and better for coleslaw. The bag was a bit more than 4 cups. It was really good. The flavour was quite different! I loved it! The only change I made was to omit the salt. I almost never add salt. Next time I won't toss the cabbage with the liquid from the oranges, I'll mix it (and the seasonings) with the mayo. And I would only use 2 Tbsp of mayo. Also, add the oranges last so you don't crush them when you stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I made this for a "luau" at my son's school. It was a great hit! I loved it, too. I wanted to pass on how I presented it. I cut a pineapple down the middle lengthwise (I used my electric knife, which made it sooo easy.) I cut out the insides to make a pineapple boat. I then filled the two halves with the coleslaw. It was so great that I am going to do it again this weekend. Oh, yeah, I used a bag of shredded slaw mix instead of shredding my own. Made it very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This was a good side dish for our Hawaiian theme party. I don't think it is necessary to put in the salt or at least half the salt amount. It also helps if you dry the cabbage well. If not there seems to be a lot of liquid at the bottom of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Great to serve at a summer barbecue-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
Very tasty and had a fruity flavor to it!! Just served it for a girls get together and all loved it and want the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Loved this! I agree with adding the juice to the mayo. I added roasted peanuts, also, at the end. Served with a fruited pork loin roast, and rice. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is a fantastic salad. I made this as part of a Hawaiian menu for a luau-style birthday party. It was fresh, sweet and colorful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is a sweet slaw. It is flavorful and good. I'm not a big coleslaw person, but I will have to make this again sometime. I HIGHLY recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I loved it! A different twist on coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This recipe would be great for covered dishes or for a ladies luncheon. My husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States