Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Very good recipe. I used bagged slaw mix, and I thought I had mandarins oranges in my pantry and it turned out I didn't, so I added some dried cranberries and pineapple juice instead of the mandarin juice. Still delicious. I will make sure I have the oranges next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was so good I thought my husband would eat the whole thing in one sitting! I used Miracle Whip because I had run out of mayo, but I liked it anyway. I'll definitely put this on my "must make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made it for a dinner party. The guests all liked it, but I thought it was a little bland. I did sprinkle on a few sunflower seeds and some dried berries which helped a little, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made this to go with the Kalua pig in a slow cooker recipe. It was so awesome! Unfortunately we went grocery shopping during super bowl and all the prepackaged cole slaw mixes were gone, so I had to use broccoli slaw. Still amazing! Other than (unfortunately) the main ingredient, followed the recipe exactly. **** After making this more times than I can count and with actual coleslaw mix, I prefer skipping the reserved juice (there's more than enough liquid) and adding a small can of pineapple tidbits. I also like to use a little extra of the spices, but not extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
My family loved this! A great change from traditional coleslaw. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
served this with my hula pork, excellent flavor and texture. may add a diced jalapeno next time for a more hot and sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I love the simple effective recipe... I added a couple spoonfuls of yogurt. I recommend like a lemon, orange or something citrusy it really worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for a party we gave for a friend moving to Hawaii, it was dee-lish. Instead of canned crushed pineapple, I used the fresh pineapple pulp I crushed in scooping it out of a ripe pineapple, and then served the slaw in the two empty halves of the fruit. It was a beautiful presentation. I'm going to repeat it for another Hawaiian themed party this weekend, but will have to triple the recipe for a bigger crowd. I also used pre-shredded slaw instead of cutting up my own cabbage, everything else was by the book. Easy and yummy, what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I prepared this a little differently but used all the ingredients. Used fresh mandarin orange sections and soaked them for a few hours with the pineapple, salt/pepper, ginger (used a little less of this than recipe called for because I am not a huge fan of ginger) and nutmeg. One hour before serving I mixed this with the cabbage and mayonnaise and chilled until ready to serve. Very tasty!! A hit at our luau dinner. Thanks ChristyJ for flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very nice and refreshing. I left out the nutmeg and added a dash of cinnamon in it's place and used fat free mayo. I also added some shredded carrots and some purple cabbage. It was a very colorful salad and would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States