Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
My family loved this! A great change from traditional coleslaw. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
served this with my hula pork, excellent flavor and texture. may add a diced jalapeno next time for a more hot and sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I love the simple effective recipe... I added a couple spoonfuls of yogurt. I recommend like a lemon, orange or something citrusy it really worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for a party we gave for a friend moving to Hawaii, it was dee-lish. Instead of canned crushed pineapple, I used the fresh pineapple pulp I crushed in scooping it out of a ripe pineapple, and then served the slaw in the two empty halves of the fruit. It was a beautiful presentation. I'm going to repeat it for another Hawaiian themed party this weekend, but will have to triple the recipe for a bigger crowd. I also used pre-shredded slaw instead of cutting up my own cabbage, everything else was by the book. Easy and yummy, what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I prepared this a little differently but used all the ingredients. Used fresh mandarin orange sections and soaked them for a few hours with the pineapple, salt/pepper, ginger (used a little less of this than recipe called for because I am not a huge fan of ginger) and nutmeg. One hour before serving I mixed this with the cabbage and mayonnaise and chilled until ready to serve. Very tasty!! A hit at our luau dinner. Thanks ChristyJ for flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very nice and refreshing. I left out the nutmeg and added a dash of cinnamon in it's place and used fat free mayo. I also added some shredded carrots and some purple cabbage. It was a very colorful salad and would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I make this and serve it over BBQ pulled pork on kings hawaiian buns delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was a perfect addition to the Kalua pig recipe. I used a bit too much juice, but the crunch was a nice compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I'm not really a big fan of cole slaw in general so the addition of these extras (mandarin oranges, pineapple, ginger, and nutmeg) sounded like a good version that was perfect for a luau themed pot luck coming up. However I must really be used to the taste of ginger and nutmeg because I could barely taste either one! But overall it was a good version of cole slaw that disappeared quickly and I would definitely make it again. The oranges and pineapple are really what makes it special. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw mix, which I highly recommend doing, unless you enjoy the act of shredding cabbage. I also added about a tablespoon more mayo than the recipe calls for since it seemed a tad lacking when I mixed it up at first. Next time I'll use a touch more ginger and nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
tasty, crisp, light, not sweet, not tangy. I was pleasantly surprised at the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sflash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States