Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
We loved this!!! The only change I made was using Teriaki sauce rather than soy sauce, because I didn't have any on hand. Everyone loved them!!Definitely marinate over night. Excellent with pork also. Fresh pineapple is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I read some of the other reviews and incorporated various ideas, and whatever I did came out amazing! My boyfriend kept saying "wow" as he was eating it. Now that I've tried it out on us, it would be a great recipe for a dinner party. Here's what I did: Made double the marinade, using fresh ginger and garlic (and I only did 2 chicken breasts; so if I were doing the full 4, I would quadruple the marinade) . Marinated the chicken first, in one bag, for 2 hours . Marinated fresh pineapple with red peppers, green peppers & purple onions in a separate bag, for 1-2 hours . Threaded chicken and pineapple/veggies on separate kabobs . Put the chicken on the grill, turning every 5 minutes, for a total of about 20 minutes. Put the pineapple/veggies on the grill for the last 10 minutes, turning once halfway through. Meanwhile, heated the marinade from the pineapple/veggies over the stove with a little cornstarch to thicken it. Served over coconut rice (2 cups jasmine ride, 1 cup coconut milk, 2 cups water, 1/2 tsp salt & 2 Tbsp shredded coconut in rice cooker on regular setting), with the thickened marinade drizzled over the top. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Oh my! These are absolutetly delicious! I've made these twice now with excellent results and it's now become one of my husband's favorites. To "health" this up just a little I used low sodium soy sauce, fresh garlic, brown sugar Splenda and replaced the sherry with rice wine vinegar. I mixed it altogether along with the sesame oil and ginger. I put three quarters of the marinade along with the chicken into a ziploc freezer bag and let it marinate all day. The remaining marinade I put into another ziploc bag along with fresh pineapple, viadlia onion, and red and yellow peppers. I skewered the meat separate from fruit and veggies as they cook at different rates. I love when so few simple ingredients combine to create something really special. This was wonderful served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
YUMMMMMMMMMMMY! I used rice vinegar instead of sherry as others suggested, and I paired the kebabs with the Tropiguac (Hawaiian-style Guacamole) also from this site and blue corn chips. Could not have had a fresher meal with some new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious! I used fresh pineapple and added some other veggies to the skewers as well (red onion, red bell pepper, zucchini). Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these last night. Excellent! I did make a couple of alterations. I added the juice of half a lime to the marinade and used chunks of green bell pepper and onions on the skewer with the chicken and pineapple. While it was cooking outside, even our dog was freaking out because it smelled so good! Later my husband asked me where I wanted to eat out Friday night. He said that it didn't matter to him because it wouldn't taste as good as what I cooked last night! Huge compliment! Huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Marinated for 2 hours using fresh pineapple. Enzyme in pineapple made the chicken pasty on the inside, not pleasant. I liked the marinade but perhaps will just use onions & peppers next time instead of pineapple and make pineapple fried rice instead to add that 'Hawaiian' touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I'm definitely adding this recipe to my regular schedule, tasty and low in fat. I'm giving it four stars because I did change a couple of things, first I used fresh ginger and garlic and doubled the amounts, and I also used rice vinegar instead of the sherry as others have suggested and I think it would be too sweet without it. I also splashed in some of the pineapple juice and let the chicken and veges marinate overnight. I marinaded the chicken in one bowl and in another I had some onion and capsicum marinading to be safe. I didn't put the pineapple in the marinade, for some reason I just hate pineapple when it's not on its own, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made these for dinner last night, and I marinated for only 2 hours. The flavors really soaked into the chicken-yummy and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
my favorite kabobs so far :) delicious! followed advice to add chopped garlic and rice vineager instead of sherry. Added onion and bell pepper on the skewers and put them on the george forman :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States