Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Oh my! These are absolutetly delicious! I've made these twice now with excellent results and it's now become one of my husband's favorites. To "health" this up just a little I used low sodium soy sauce, fresh garlic, brown sugar Splenda and replaced the sherry with rice wine vinegar. I mixed it altogether along with the sesame oil and ginger. I put three quarters of the marinade along with the chicken into a ziploc freezer bag and let it marinate all day. The remaining marinade I put into another ziploc bag along with fresh pineapple, viadlia onion, and red and yellow peppers. I skewered the meat separate from fruit and veggies as they cook at different rates. I love when so few simple ingredients combine to create something really special. This was wonderful served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
YUMMMMMMMMMMMY! I used rice vinegar instead of sherry as others suggested, and I paired the kebabs with the Tropiguac (Hawaiian-style Guacamole) also from this site and blue corn chips. Could not have had a fresher meal with some new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious! I used fresh pineapple and added some other veggies to the skewers as well (red onion, red bell pepper, zucchini). Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these last night. Excellent! I did make a couple of alterations. I added the juice of half a lime to the marinade and used chunks of green bell pepper and onions on the skewer with the chicken and pineapple. While it was cooking outside, even our dog was freaking out because it smelled so good! Later my husband asked me where I wanted to eat out Friday night. He said that it didn't matter to him because it wouldn't taste as good as what I cooked last night! Huge compliment! Huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Marinated for 2 hours using fresh pineapple. Enzyme in pineapple made the chicken pasty on the inside, not pleasant. I liked the marinade but perhaps will just use onions & peppers next time instead of pineapple and make pineapple fried rice instead to add that 'Hawaiian' touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I'm definitely adding this recipe to my regular schedule, tasty and low in fat. I'm giving it four stars because I did change a couple of things, first I used fresh ginger and garlic and doubled the amounts, and I also used rice vinegar instead of the sherry as others have suggested and I think it would be too sweet without it. I also splashed in some of the pineapple juice and let the chicken and veges marinate overnight. I marinaded the chicken in one bowl and in another I had some onion and capsicum marinading to be safe. I didn't put the pineapple in the marinade, for some reason I just hate pineapple when it's not on its own, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made these for dinner last night, and I marinated for only 2 hours. The flavors really soaked into the chicken-yummy and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
my favorite kabobs so far :) delicious! followed advice to add chopped garlic and rice vineager instead of sherry. Added onion and bell pepper on the skewers and put them on the george forman :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
LOVED LOVED LOVED this! Made as recipe said. Only complaint was I didn't make enough...hubby wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was very yummy. The Chicken was very tender and the pineapple gave it just the right kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States