Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Love the recipe. The one ingredient you just can't leave out or substitute is the sesame oil. I also used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and substituted rice wine vinegar for the sherry. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful. I served it over coconut rice. This little haole found it pure Hawaiian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These were just awesome. Served with coconut rice, and veggie kabobs (green and red peppers, zuccini, and mushrooms). Per other suggestions, Made an extra batch of marinade cooked with about 1tsp corstarch to thicken slightly and basted chicken and a little on veggies while on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Delish !! Made this tonight. Used fresh garlic, fresh ginger root and fresh pineapple. Also substituted sherry with rice vinegar all per other reviewers. Used a teaspoon of arrowroot and 3 T of cold water to thicken sauce and use as basting sauce on skewers. Absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
i just use teryaki bought from the store! way faster .if your in a rush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
We loved this!!! The only change I made was using Teriaki sauce rather than soy sauce, because I didn't have any on hand. Everyone loved them!!Definitely marinate over night. Excellent with pork also. Fresh pineapple is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I read some of the other reviews and incorporated various ideas, and whatever I did came out amazing! My boyfriend kept saying "wow" as he was eating it. Now that I've tried it out on us, it would be a great recipe for a dinner party. Here's what I did: Made double the marinade, using fresh ginger and garlic (and I only did 2 chicken breasts; so if I were doing the full 4, I would quadruple the marinade) . Marinated the chicken first, in one bag, for 2 hours . Marinated fresh pineapple with red peppers, green peppers & purple onions in a separate bag, for 1-2 hours . Threaded chicken and pineapple/veggies on separate kabobs . Put the chicken on the grill, turning every 5 minutes, for a total of about 20 minutes. Put the pineapple/veggies on the grill for the last 10 minutes, turning once halfway through. Meanwhile, heated the marinade from the pineapple/veggies over the stove with a little cornstarch to thicken it. Served over coconut rice (2 cups jasmine ride, 1 cup coconut milk, 2 cups water, 1/2 tsp salt & 2 Tbsp shredded coconut in rice cooker on regular setting), with the thickened marinade drizzled over the top. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Oh my! These are absolutetly delicious! I've made these twice now with excellent results and it's now become one of my husband's favorites. To "health" this up just a little I used low sodium soy sauce, fresh garlic, brown sugar Splenda and replaced the sherry with rice wine vinegar. I mixed it altogether along with the sesame oil and ginger. I put three quarters of the marinade along with the chicken into a ziploc freezer bag and let it marinate all day. The remaining marinade I put into another ziploc bag along with fresh pineapple, viadlia onion, and red and yellow peppers. I skewered the meat separate from fruit and veggies as they cook at different rates. I love when so few simple ingredients combine to create something really special. This was wonderful served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
YUMMMMMMMMMMMY! I used rice vinegar instead of sherry as others suggested, and I paired the kebabs with the Tropiguac (Hawaiian-style Guacamole) also from this site and blue corn chips. Could not have had a fresher meal with some new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was delicious! I used fresh pineapple and added some other veggies to the skewers as well (red onion, red bell pepper, zucchini). Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Made these last night. Excellent! I did make a couple of alterations. I added the juice of half a lime to the marinade and used chunks of green bell pepper and onions on the skewer with the chicken and pineapple. While it was cooking outside, even our dog was freaking out because it smelled so good! Later my husband asked me where I wanted to eat out Friday night. He said that it didn't matter to him because it wouldn't taste as good as what I cooked last night! Huge compliment! Huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States