Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I marinated the chicken and shrimp for 8 hours with this recipe. It turned the chicken and shrimp so mushy that we had to through it out and order delivery. Ruined the barcecue and we had to throw away 200 dollars in food. If you try this recipe make sure to only marinate it for 2 hours at most. I have marinated chicken over night over 100 times and never had a problem. I don't know if it is because the pieces are cubed or the marinate isn't good but using fresh pineapple and ingredients, following this to a tee, I wasted a ton of time and it was a disaster. I wish I knew what went wrong. I am thinking that protein and pineapple do NOT belong marinated together for a long time. Recipe says "at least 2 hours" I wouldn't go 1 minute over and cross your fingers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Delicious! I had limited time, so the chicken marinated for only about 15 minutes. I used fresh pineapple and a can of white potatoes. Skewered it all and grilled it. Because the potatoes were on the kabob, I didn't even need a side dish. Quick and easy. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing, dailyn2003.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Delicious! I did as another cook suggested and boiled the leftover vegetable marinade combined with 2tbs cornstarch and 1/3 or so cup water. It makes a great baste/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I thickened the marinade slightly with cornstarch and served as a sauce for pulled chicken & pulled pork sandwiches. Yummy and received raves at our annual picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This marinade was absolutely wonderful! Substituted red wine vinegar for the rice wine (I couldn't find it anywhere!) We have made this twice already... once we just made on the stove (which came out very watery but was still delicious), and the second time we finally tried it on the grill! Yum! We have tried with both chicken and shrimp- both are amazing. Highly, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Wonderful combination of flavors! As other reviewers suggested, I used freshly ground ginger and minced garlic - nothing compares to fresh - and doubled the marinade ingredients. And, since I don't often go to the trouble of grilling just for myself, I turned this into a stir-fry. After marinading the chicken for several hours I added the pineapple chunks along with orange bell pepper chunks, sweet onion, and mushrooms, letting all the favors blend. Then I did a quick stir fry before adding the remaining marinade and simmering for about 10-15 minutes. Thicken with a little cornstarch and water, serve over coconut jasmine rice (from this site) and... YUMM!!! Already looking forward to tomorrow's leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My husband has had to eliminate red meat from his diet. So it has been a challenge coming up with different ways to make chicken. We both loved this recipe very much. It was so easy and the chicken came out very moist after grilling. We grilled some onions as well and served with the kabobs. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Tested it on Saturday and will make it again on Monday for Memorial Day. The marinate has a strong smell but it does not overpower the chicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I tried this last night and everyone loved it. I used chicken tenderloins and used canned pineapple instead of fresh since I didn't want to head to the store. Only modification was using some pineapple juice in the marinade too from using the canned pineapple. Let it all sit for 3-4 hrs in the frig and put on skewers. Easy and yummy! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a very flavorful recipe that goes very well with white rice and great for the first grill meal of summer. Everyone in my family loved it. I did find it needed a little salt. I also added onions to the kabobs. Everyone in my family like onions with any kind of kabobs. The sweet taste of grilled onions complemented the grilled pineapple perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States