Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
No change to ingredients, but used as a chicken marinate instead. Cooled to room temperature, put small slits in chicken breasts then combined marinate and chicken in a zip lock bag, pressing out air. Refrigerated for 2 hours. Grilled and used marinate to baste. Fantastic flavor, guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
You have to so careful not to over cook these especially on the grill. The chicken can easily get dried out and tough. I felt like the taste of the soy sauce was to overwhelming along with the seseme oil. I will cut both down the next time I make this. I also marinated the chicken alone. I did as others suggested and cooked down the marinade adding a little corn starch but again the soy sauce was to powerful, we didn't use it. We will try again, but I appreciate all who made suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I added onion to the sauce to marinade along with the chicken & pineapple. I also added red & yellow peppers to the skewers! SO MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I marinated the chicken and shrimp for 8 hours with this recipe. It turned the chicken and shrimp so mushy that we had to through it out and order delivery. Ruined the barcecue and we had to throw away 200 dollars in food. If you try this recipe make sure to only marinate it for 2 hours at most. I have marinated chicken over night over 100 times and never had a problem. I don't know if it is because the pieces are cubed or the marinate isn't good but using fresh pineapple and ingredients, following this to a tee, I wasted a ton of time and it was a disaster. I wish I knew what went wrong. I am thinking that protein and pineapple do NOT belong marinated together for a long time. Recipe says "at least 2 hours" I wouldn't go 1 minute over and cross your fingers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Delicious! I had limited time, so the chicken marinated for only about 15 minutes. I used fresh pineapple and a can of white potatoes. Skewered it all and grilled it. Because the potatoes were on the kabob, I didn't even need a side dish. Quick and easy. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing, dailyn2003.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Delicious! I did as another cook suggested and boiled the leftover vegetable marinade combined with 2tbs cornstarch and 1/3 or so cup water. It makes a great baste/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I thickened the marinade slightly with cornstarch and served as a sauce for pulled chicken & pulled pork sandwiches. Yummy and received raves at our annual picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This marinade was absolutely wonderful! Substituted red wine vinegar for the rice wine (I couldn't find it anywhere!) We have made this twice already... once we just made on the stove (which came out very watery but was still delicious), and the second time we finally tried it on the grill! Yum! We have tried with both chicken and shrimp- both are amazing. Highly, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Wonderful combination of flavors! As other reviewers suggested, I used freshly ground ginger and minced garlic - nothing compares to fresh - and doubled the marinade ingredients. And, since I don't often go to the trouble of grilling just for myself, I turned this into a stir-fry. After marinading the chicken for several hours I added the pineapple chunks along with orange bell pepper chunks, sweet onion, and mushrooms, letting all the favors blend. Then I did a quick stir fry before adding the remaining marinade and simmering for about 10-15 minutes. Thicken with a little cornstarch and water, serve over coconut jasmine rice (from this site) and... YUMM!!! Already looking forward to tomorrow's leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My husband has had to eliminate red meat from his diet. So it has been a challenge coming up with different ways to make chicken. We both loved this recipe very much. It was so easy and the chicken came out very moist after grilling. We grilled some onions as well and served with the kabobs. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States