Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is so good! Not too sweet. I didn't use sesame oil because we didn't have any, so I used a healthy balance oil. I used fresh, minced garlic instead of powder. I marinated the chicken for 7 hours and wouldn't do it for less. I took the advice of other reviews and turned the marinade into a baste. Lastly, I forgot to marinate the (fresh) pineapple, so I just brushed it with the baste as we grilled and it had plenty of flavor, especially when combined with the chicken. I will make this again and again because it's amazing + very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Probably 3.5 or 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had quite a disaster! I wanted to make slightly smaller kabobs (called sosaties locally), as I wanted them as a starter for our BBQ with a group of friends. I also am not fond of canned pineapple, so decided to make the extra effort and bought lovely, fresh ones and cubed these. As the recipe said to marinate for at least 2 hours, I thought I'd make them on Saturday afternoon, ready for the Sunday lunch BBQ. BIG mistake!! I believe the pineapple acts as meat tenderizer. The chicken pieces were so tender, it was more like eating flour! Did not taste like chicken or meat at all! I had made at least 36 inedible skewers. This must be a result of using fresh pineapple iso canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Overall, I like the recipe. However, I thought it needed a bit of tang so I added some rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The chicken was great, but I wasn't crazy about the pineapple. Usually I love pineapple either fresh or grilled, but I think I didn't like it with this marinade. Next time maybe I'll just marinate the chicken and not the pineapple. Also, we didn't have any sherry so we used wine instead. It still turned out well. We had this with baked beans and the Asian Coconut Rice recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
kids and family loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I did make the mistake of using fresh pineapple and marinating it with the chicken overnight, so the enzymes in the pineapple made the chicken sticky/pasty. It still tasted great though. Next time I will marinate the chicken & pineapple separately. I served over rice with some roasted red potatoes on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe except for marinating time. This was a last minute thing so I marinated for 30 minutes but the chicken still came out pasty. It smelled great and pineapples were ok but I could not get over the pasty-ness of chicken. I will try again but will follow KAJEWSKI suggestions. Will update how they come out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Great marinade for the chicken! We thought it was very flavorful (marinated 4 hours). A word of caution, though, do not marinate the pineapple. The enzymes break down the chicken. After pulling the chicken out of the marinade, I threaded skewers with chicken, fresh pineapple, red and green bell pepper, and purple onion. However, I made sure not to place pineapple and chicken next to one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States