Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Easy to prepare, I made this just as described. My husband an I really liked it. The chicken turn out very tender, marinaded about 3 hours. I left the pineapple separate from the meat during the marinade due to reading the reviews and everything turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsyinked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
If I didn't use fresh pineapple, it'd be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Not bad! While prepping the marinade, I knew I was in for a real treat because it smelled SO good!!! I just wish these tasted as good as they smelled. The flavor of these was quite mild, even tho I marinated everything for nearly seven hours (FYI, I divided my chicken & pineapple for fear of cross contamination). NOTE: It only took my hubs five short minutes to grill our kabobs. I'm not sure what we'd have ended up with if we cooked these on medium-high for 15-20 minutes (ikes!). All in all, these were easy to make but in need of some tweaking to better suit my tastes. A side of fried rice rounded out our simple meal. Thanks for sharing, dailyn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
They were good; however, I was hoping for a more flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I switched apple cider vinegar for the sherry and used toasted sesame oil, doubled the recipe and it came out great! I do recommend marinating the chicken and pineapple at least 8 hours, preferably overnight. Turned out great, the brown sugar caramelized and it was done in 20 minutes on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is so good! Not too sweet. I didn't use sesame oil because we didn't have any, so I used a healthy balance oil. I used fresh, minced garlic instead of powder. I marinated the chicken for 7 hours and wouldn't do it for less. I took the advice of other reviews and turned the marinade into a baste. Lastly, I forgot to marinate the (fresh) pineapple, so I just brushed it with the baste as we grilled and it had plenty of flavor, especially when combined with the chicken. I will make this again and again because it's amazing + very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Probably 3.5 or 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had quite a disaster! I wanted to make slightly smaller kabobs (called sosaties locally), as I wanted them as a starter for our BBQ with a group of friends. I also am not fond of canned pineapple, so decided to make the extra effort and bought lovely, fresh ones and cubed these. As the recipe said to marinate for at least 2 hours, I thought I'd make them on Saturday afternoon, ready for the Sunday lunch BBQ. BIG mistake!! I believe the pineapple acts as meat tenderizer. The chicken pieces were so tender, it was more like eating flour! Did not taste like chicken or meat at all! I had made at least 36 inedible skewers. This must be a result of using fresh pineapple iso canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Overall, I like the recipe. However, I thought it needed a bit of tang so I added some rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States