Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yummy and worth repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
The flavor was Delish but my chicken was extremely dry. I followed the recipe pretty closely. The changes I made was due to the ingredients I had on had. 1) I marinated my pineapple and veggies separately 2) I had some red and green bell peppers along with yellow onion with the pineapple and that mixture turned out great. I think otherwise it might have been too sweet 3) I made a dipping sauce as suggested. I would make this again with my changes listed above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Maybe I'm just not a fan of Hawaiian chicken, but I didn't really care for this dish. I followed the recipe, and even used the "good" sherry. The marinade flavor was just ok. As long as I took a bite of pineapple with the meat, I liked it better, but without the pineapple, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
A few years ago I had the most delicious chicken in Hawaii and I have been trying recipes to find that flavor ever since. This is it! For those of you who did not try it with the sherry, but substituted vinegar, you are missing a fantastic flavor combination. This is a perfect recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great marinade!I skewered chicken, onion, red bell peppers, fresh pineapple and Aidells chicken & pineapple sausage (from Costco). I marinated everything for about 3 hrs, could have gone longer but great flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I should have read the reviews first. Do not use fresh pineapple, unless you're looking for a QUICK marinade. Only after tossing everything in the fridge to marinate, did I start reading the reviews and read comments about chicken turning to mush while using fresh pineapple. Yikes! Less then 2 hrs I the fridge and my chicken was mush. I will use canned pineapple in the future. For sure I will give this recipe another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Excellent. Followed the recipe exactly. My company really liked it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We really enjoyed these! We put squash on as well but it probably should have soaked a little more in the marinade as the squash wasn't as flavorful as the rest. To cook them over the fire I put them on oil sprayed tin foil which turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was terrific! Had not made kabobs in years. Meat always seemed dry. Not this recipe! The chicken was moist, and the veggies were perfectly done. I made a few minor changes. I used white wine in place of sherry, since that was what I had on hand. I also separated the meat from the veggies when marinating and cooking. I also included mushrooms since my husband loves them. The most time consuming part of this meal was threading the kabobs! Hubby, who does not like onions or peppers, actually commented on how much he liked them with this meal. Also, I made double the amount of marinade for four chicken breasts. This seemed like just the right amount of marinade. As other people suggested, I took the marinade from the veggies, put it in a small pot, and boiled it to reduce. This was then used the last 5 minutes of grilling to baste the chicken and veggies. Absolutely delicious!! Will definitely make again. The grilled pineapple was especially wonderful with the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Wow, I was sooooo disappointed with this recipe after it had so many positive posts and star rating. After following the recipe to a "t" , I found the meat flavor extremely bland and unexciting. I would recommend adding fresh ginger and garlic instead of dry. Marinating the meat in pineapple juice would give it more tang while adding a dash of Thai chili paste or even lemon grass to the mix would really amp up the taste. My guests were equally unimpressed. I like lots of flavor and it we are going for a tropical chicken, then add more flavor...just like in the tropics. Marinate the new mix overnight and voila! greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States