Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I had to double the amount of marinade to have enough for basting. I did add in some toasted sesame seeds and a bit of Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce which adds wonderful flavor to the chicken. Along with the pineapple, we added some green pepper and red onion. Marinated and cooked the veggies separate from the chicken. Sear the chicken over direct heat and then move the skewers to indirect heat while you cook the fruit/veggies over direct. By the time the veggies are done so is the chicken. Served over white rice. What a great summer meal...oh and we used fresh pineapple since it is in season right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did sub out rice wine vinegar for the sherry and it tasted great. Follow the suggestions of other reviewers and it turns out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinrueff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delish! They look fab on your plate as well, even the kiddo's liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBerryBliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was delicious!! Similar to the teriakki recipe I make, eve my 2 year old ate all his chicken up!! I did not marinate the pineapple with the chicken though just sliced it up fresh & added it to the stick when all the chicken was cooked (not a fan of warm grilled pineapple)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
We are trying to eat healthier and grill more this summer. I found this recipe when I was looking for something to do with some pineapple chunks that needed to be used. I made the marinade in the morning and added 4 frozen chicken tenderloins to marinate all day. I added the pineapple chunks in the last 2 hours. I also used the pineapple juice instead of sherry. We really enjoyed this recipe and will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My husband said, "These taste like something you'd get only in a restaurant." Yummmm. Perfect--didn't change a thing. Very tender and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeLiSsA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Germantown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Delicious! I added onions and red peppers to the marinade. Definitely a keeper for summer grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I actually used some of the pineapple juice (from the can) in the marinade and a touch more sherry. I also blended the marinade in a small pot on the stove over a low to medium heat. let it cool then marinaded the chicken. Kept a little marinade on the side which I used to baste the skewers while they were on the grill. I also added a cut up red pepper to the skewer. my son and husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were good, but I made a couple changes that I would not do next time. First, I over-marinated. This marinated for over 8 hours and it was too much, I would stick to 2 or 3 max. Also I made a glaze with the marinade to baste the kabobs with, but it was too thick and was overpowering. I would only baste with the regular marinade next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These are great. Made them as stated and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verbena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States