Hawaiian Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I liked this dish a lot. It's very easy and tasty. I actually did something a little different that turned out REALLY well: I used a glass ungreased 9 X13 baking pan and I added 2 cups of raw rice, and 2-and-a-half cups of water to the bottom of the pan. I stirred the rice to make sure it soaked the water in well, then I put the chicken on top of the rice/water mix, and poured the sauce over that. I baked it covered with tin foil for 20 minutes @ 400F, then I removed the tin foil and baked for 30 or so minutes uncovered. The rice cooks thoroughly and easily on its own, absorbing the flavorful sauce, and the chicken is very moist and tender with a coating of the sweet and sour. I think next time I might add a little pineapple before I pour on the sauce because I love pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
VERY tasty! I added chunky pieces of green pepper, while arranging the dish for the oven. Next time I will add the green pepper 5 or 10 minutes before taking out of the oven. Upon taking the dish out, I placed the chicken breasts on bed of white rice on a serving dish, added some pineapple chunks, and covered it all with the leftover sauce. Definately will add this to my rotation. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
It was good, but too sweet for me. I used bone in thighs chicken. I cut the butter in half, as 1/4 cup seemed like it would be excessive. threw in some green pepper with 10 minutes to go. had some pineapple on the side. Went well with white rice. I don't know if I will make this again, but if I do I will cut the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
VERY YUMMY but man is it sweet!!!! We served it over white rice and the leftovers heated up beautifully! We also added a little shake of red pepper flake to combat the sweetness and add a little extra zing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckledmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Excellent, with in our opinion, a perfect meld of flavors. You can't really taste the white wine, however, the sauce has a distinctive flavor to it that is sooooo good. Served it with rice and a little soy sauce. Next time, will try adding cornstarch to thicken the sauce after cooking, and will add green peppers and pineapple. My husband and teenage son absolutely LOVED it, want me to make more ASAP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
My turn to prepare the office lunch and I choose Hawaiian Chicken II. Because the menu was enlarged, my prep/cook time was about 4 hours to prepare for forty-two people. To this day I am still getting rave reviews to the meal that was prepared last July ’01. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLParks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was delicious! I cut up the chicken into chunks and added whole green beans and pineapple chunks. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
BLAND!!! Very, Very Bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This is a tasty, easy recipe which soaks up lots of the sweet & sour flavor. If you like pineapple, put it in as you serve and pour leftover sauce over it. Everyone I tried it out on really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Passable, but not something I would make again. I think the texture of the chicken (basically poached) turned me off the most, but I also found that the butter was too prominent a flavour. I'd suggest cutting the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States